Rolling Stones: Listen to ‘Scarlet,’ a Lost 1974 Song Featuring Jimmy Page and Ric Grech (from the New ‘Goats Heads Soup’ Reissue)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

One of the most intriguing elements promised by The Rolling Stones with the recent announcement of their upcoming Goats Head Soup reissue is “Scarlet,” a previously unreleased recording from the Stones, Led Zeppelin guitarist Jimmy Page and Ric Grech of Blind Faith.

(Click here to pre-order Goats Head Soup in a variety of formats from our Rock Cellar Store). 

The song was premiered on Wednesday as a preview of the Goats Head Soup reissue, and can be heard below:

Said Mick Jagger of his memories with the song: “I remember first jamming this with Jimmy and Keith in Ronnie’s basement studio. It was a great session.”

And Keith Richards‘’My recollection is we walked in at the end of a Zeppelin session. They were just leaving, and we were booked in next and I believe that Jimmy decided to stay. We weren’t actually cutting it as a track, it was basically for a demo, a demonstration, you know, just to get the feel of it, but it came out well, with a line up like that, you know, we better use it.‘’

“Scarlet” is one of three previously unreleased tracks turning up on Goats Head Soup, which will be released on Sept. 4. One of the others, “Criss Cross,” was released last week as a music video, accompanying the reissue announcement:

The other unreleased song is “All the Rage,” which was teased as follows in a press release:

“All The Rage” has a wild, post – “Brown Sugar” strut and the percussive “Criss Cross” rocks and swaggers as only the Stones can. The bonus disc of unreleased material also sheds new light on tracks such as “100 Years Ago” and “Hide Your Love,” with further unissued mixes by Stones insider and acclaimed producer Glyn Johns. 

Additional details on the Goats Head Soup reissue, which is up for pre-order at the Stones’ official site:

The box set editions of Goats Head Soup will also include Brussels Affair, the 15-track live album recorded in a memorable show in Belgium, on the autumn 1973 tour that followed the album’s late August release. This much-sought-after disc, mixed by Bob Clearmountain, was previously available only in the Rolling Stones’ “official bootleg” series of live recordings in 2012.

The Brussels show features the already-classic “Tumbling Dice,” “Midnight Rambler,” “Jumping Jack Flash” and many others, and includes a sequence of tracks from the then-new album. “Star Star” is followed by “Dancing With Mr. D,” “Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)” and “Angie.”

Additionally, the CD and vinyl box sets offer the original ten-track album in 5.1 Surround Sound, Dolby Atmos and Hi-Res mixes, along with the videos for “Dancing With Mr. D,” “Silver Train” and “Angie.” An exclusive 100-page book will feature a remarkable array of photographs, essays by writers Ian McCann, Nick Kent and Daryl Easlea and faithful reproductions of three tour posters from 1973.

The track listing for the 2-CD Deluxe Edition from the Rolling Stones:

1. Dancing With Mr D
2. 100 Years Ago
3. Coming Down Again
4. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
5. Angie
6. Silver Train
7. Hide Your Love
8. Winter
9. Can You Hear The Music
10. Star Star

Rarities & Alternative Mixes

1. Scarlet
2. All The Rage
3. Criss Cross
4. 100 Years Ago (Piano Demo)
5. Dancing With Mr D (Instrumental)
6. Heartbreaker (Instrumental)
7. Hide Your Love (Alternative Mix)
8. Dancing With Mr D (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)
9. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker) – (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)
10. Silver Train (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)

Related Posts