Rolling Stones: New ‘Goats Head Soup’ Reissue Announced, Features Three Unreleased Songs; Watch a Music Video for ‘Criss Cross’

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

As promised in a teaser post from the iconic rockers on Wednesday, The Rolling Stones have indeed premiered a song from the vaults that had, as of yet, never been officially released.

“Criss Cross” is a preview of the band’s planned reissue of 1973’s Goats Head Soup, which was also detailed on Thursday. The reissue is due out Sept. 9. As for “Criss Cross,” the song — which was bootlegged for years — is now available in remastered format for the first time, and comes with a music video directed by Diana Kunst:

“Criss Cross” is one of three previously unheard tracks from the Goats Head Soup sessions, the other two being “Scarlet” (which features guest appearances from Jimmy Page of Led Zeppelin and Rick Grech of Blind Faith) and “All the Rage.”

Per a press release, “All the Rage” also sounds like a treat:

“All The Rage” has a wild, post – “Brown Sugar” strut and the percussive “Criss Cross” rocks and swaggers as only the Stones can. The bonus disc of unreleased material also sheds new light on tracks such as “100 Years Ago” and “Hide Your Love,” with further unissued mixes by Stones insider and acclaimed producer Glyn Johns. 

Additional details on the Goats Head Soup reissue, which is up for pre-order at the Stones’ official site:

The box set editions of Goats Head Soup will also include Brussels Affair, the 15-track live album recorded in a memorable show in Belgium, on the autumn 1973 tour that followed the album’s late August release. This much-sought-after disc, mixed by Bob Clearmountain, was previously available only in the Rolling Stones’ “official bootleg” series of live recordings in 2012.

The Brussels show features the already-classic “Tumbling Dice,” “Midnight Rambler,” “Jumping Jack Flash” and many others, and includes a sequence of tracks from the then-new album. “Star Star” is followed by “Dancing With Mr. D,” “Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)” and “Angie.”

Additionally, the CD and vinyl box sets offer the original ten-track album in 5.1 Surround Sound, Dolby Atmos and Hi-Res mixes, along with the videos for “Dancing With Mr. D,” “Silver Train” and “Angie.” An exclusive 100-page book will feature a remarkable array of photographs, essays by writers Ian McCann, Nick Kent and Daryl Easlea and faithful reproductions of three tour posters from 1973.

The track listing for the 2-CD Deluxe Edition:

1. Dancing With Mr D
2. 100 Years Ago
3. Coming Down Again
4. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
5. Angie
6. Silver Train
7. Hide Your Love
8. Winter
9. Can You Hear The Music
10. Star Star

Rarities & Alternative Mixes

1. Scarlet
2. All The Rage
3. Criss Cross
4. 100 Years Ago (Piano Demo)
5. Dancing With Mr D (Instrumental)
6. Heartbreaker (Instrumental)
7. Hide Your Love (Alternative Mix)
8. Dancing With Mr D (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)
9. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker) – (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)
10. Silver Train (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)

Related Posts