Hear Rogue Wave Cover Pete Townshend's 'Let My Love Open the Door'; '80s-Themed 'Cover Me' LP Due 2/17

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Oakland’s Rogue Wave recently released a special 1980s-themed covers album titled Cover Me for Record Store Day Black Friday back in November. The set found the indie/rock band tackling some classic ’80s tunes made famous by the likes of the Romantics, Pete Townshend, the Cure, ZZ Top, Echo & the Bunnymen and more.
On February 17, they’ll reissue the album as a special Deluxe Edition featuring some additional tracks and fancy vinyl for the collectors out there.
From their announcement:
The limited-edition deluxe gatefold package includes a bonus 7″ with two previously unreleased tracks, a special multi-color splattered translucent vinyl, and a digital download of all nine tracks on the standard release, the two tracks on the 7″ plus one more bonus track! Only 300 of these were pressed, and they’re available exclusively online and direct from the artist.
Pre-orders are up now at this link.

Here’s the track listing for the Cover Me LP:
1. “Rescue” (Echo & the Bunnymen)
2. “In Between Days” (the Cure)
3. “Let My Love Open The Door” (Pete Townshend)
4. “That’s All” (Genesis)
5. “Bette Davis Eyes” (Kim Carnes)
6. “Sharp Dressed Man” (ZZ Top)
7. “She Sells Sanctuary” (The Cult)
8. “Under The Milky Way” (The Church)
9. “Talking In Your Sleep” (The Romantics)
Bonus Material (on separate 7″):
1. “In A Big Country” (Big Country)
2. “Love My Way” (Psychedelic Furs)
3. “Money Changes Everything” (Cyndi Lauper)
(1 & 2 are on bonus 7”)
Here’s their take on Pete Townshend’s “Let My Love Open the Door,” as premiered by Brooklyn Vegan:

The band has a few West Coast tour dates lined up soon, too:
2/24 San Francisco, CA Rickshaw Stop
2/25 West Hollywood, CA Troubadour
3/2 Portland, OR Mississippi Studios
3/3 Seattle, WA The Crocodile


  • Neil says:

    Nice version!

  • Related Posts