Out Now: Rod Stewart Returns with Loose, Lively New Album ‘The Tears of Hercules’ (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Even at age 76, Sir Rod Stewart is still out there doing his thing — and today, Nov. 12, the legendary singer/songwriter is back with The Tears of Hercules, a new studio album and his 31st thus far in his unrivaled career.

Previewed in recent weeks with a few singles, The Tears of Hercules features 12 songs, nine of which were written by Stewart. Take “I Can’t Imagine” as an example of the exuberance on display on the new record:

Click here to pick up The Tears of Hercules on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up The Tears of Hercules on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The track follows the earlier debut of “One More Time,” which found an energized Stewart drawing a crowd walking through the streets of London (flanked again by those same background singers):

“Born to Boogie (A Tribute to Marc Bolan)” is a noteworthy track as well:

The title track, meanwhile, is a cover of a song originally written by Marc Jordan and Stephen Moccio, while “These Are My People” finds Rod Stewart paying homage to Johnny Cash:

As for some context regarding how the album came about, there’s this from a news release:

Stewart once again worked with Kevin Savigar, the keyboardist-songwriter-composer who has co-produced Stewart’s last three studio albums: Time (2013), Another Country (2015), and Blood Red Roses (2018). Their long-running collaboration began in 1978 when Stewart invited Savigar to join his studio and touring band. In addition to “One More Time,” they also co-wrote the standout tracks “Hold On” and “All My Days.” Stewart co-wrote “Born To Boogie (A Tribute To Mark Bolan)” with Emerson Swinford, the guitarist in his band. Stewart, Savigar, and Swinford share songwriting credit on “I Can’t Imagine.”

Stewart has always had a gift for making any song sound like it was written just for him. That’s certainly true of the album’s title track, a powerful ballad written by Marc Jordan. Through the years, Stewart has recorded other songs written by Jordan, including “Rhythm Of My Heart” (#5 U.S./#3 U.K.) from Vagabond Heart and “This” from his gold-certified album, A Spanner in the Works. Additional covers include Stewart’s joyful take on Soul Brother Six’s “Some Kind Of Wonderful,” and his stirring rendition of Johnny Cash’s “These Are My People.”

1. “One More Time”
2. “Gabriella”
3. “All My Days”
4. “Some Kind Of Wonderful”
5. “Born To Boogie (A Tribute To Mark Bolan)”
6. “Kookooaramabama”
7. “I Can’t Imagine”
8. “The Tears Of Hercules”
9. “Hold On”
10. “Precious Memories”
11. “These Are My People”
12. “Touchline”

Listen below.

Related Posts