Rod Stewart ‘1975-1978’ 5-LP Box Set Coming 6/4, ft. His First Four Warner Bros. Albums (Pre-Order)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

When Rod Stewart moved to the United States and inked a record deal with Warner Bros. Records, it marked a significant point in his heralded career — and on June 4, some of those early Warner albums will be commemorated as part of a new 5-LP box set titled Rod Stewart: 1975-1978.

Officially detailed on Thursday, the set those first four albums — Atlantic Crossing (1975), A Night on the Town (1976), Footloose & Fancy Free (1977), and Blondes Have More Fun (1978) — and a fifth LP of previously unreleased studio outtakes.

“It’s extraordinary for me to look back on this era of my career,” said Stewart in a statement. “I think fans will enjoy experiencing these songs on vinyl. I know I did.”

Click here to pre-order Rod Stewart: 1975-1978 from our Rock Cellar Store.

Noteworthy with this release is the fact that these albums have been out of print on vinyl for a while. And, as you’d expect with a release of this nature, the albums have been remastered and come complete with replica sleeves. Here’s a bit more about the bonus record, too:

The bonus LP, titled Encores 1975-1978, is a collection of 10 outtakes selected from the recording sessions for all four albums. The first side highlights five songs from the recent deluxe editions released for Atlantic Crossing and A Night on the Town. Songs include an alternate version of the B-side “Rosie” and a cover of the Bee Gees’ “To Love Somebody” recorded with the influential Stax Records house band, Booker T. & The MG’s. The flip side features five previously unreleased session outtakes from Foot Loose & Fancy Free and Blondes Have More Fun. Highlights include a cover of the Motown classic, “You Really Got A Hold On Me,” and the unreleased tracks “Silver Tongue” and “Don’t Hang Up”.

And the full track listing for the 5-LP set:

Atlantic Crossing (1975)
Fast Side
1.    “Three Time Loser”
2.    “Alright For An Hour”
3.    “All In The Name Of Rock’ N’ Roll”
4.    “Drift Away”
5.    “Stone Cold Sober”
Slow Side
1.    “I Don’t Want To Talk About It”
2.    “It’s Not The Spotlight”
3.    “This Old Heart Of Mine”
4.    “Still Love You”
5.    “Sailing”
A Night on the Town (1976)
Slow Side
1.    “Tonight’s The Night (Gonna Be Alright)”
2.    “The First Cut Is The Deepest”
3.    “Fool For You”
4.    “The Killing Of Georgie (Part I And II)”
Fast Side
1.    “The Balltrap”
2.    “Pretty Flamingo”
3.    “Big Bayou”
4.    “The Wild Side Of Life”
5.    “Trade Winds”
Footloose & Fancy Free (1977)
Side One
1.    “Hot Legs”
2.    “You’re Insane”
3.    “You’re In My Heart (The Final Acclaim)”
4.    “Born Loose”
Side Two
1.    “You Keep Me Hangin’ On”
2.    “(If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don’t Want To Be Right”
3.    “You Got A Nerve”
4.    “I Was Only Joking”
Blondes Have More Fun (1978)
Side One
1.    “Da Ya Think I’m Sexy?”
2.    “Dirty Weekend”
3.    “Ain’t Love A Bitch”
4.    “The Best Days Of My Life”
5.    “Is That The Thanks I Get?”
Side One Continued
1.    “Attractive Female Wanted”
2.    “Blondes (Have More Fun)”
3.    “Last Summer”
4.    “Standin’ In The Shadows Of Love”
5.    “Scarred and Scared”
Encores 1975-1978
Side One
1.    “Holy Cow” – with Booker T. & The MG’s
2.    “To Love Somebody” – with Booker T. & The MG’s
3.    “Return To Sender” – with Booker T. & The MG’s
4.    “Rosie” – Early Version
5.    “Get Back” – Alternate Version
Side Two
1.    “You Really Got A Hold On Me” *
2.    “Honey, Let Me Be Your Man” *
3.    “Lost Love” *
4.    “Silver Tongue” *
5.    “Don’t Hang Up” *
* previously unreleased

Related Posts