2017 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductees: Pearl Jam, Yes, Joan Baez, ELO Among New Class

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

After announcing the eclectic list of musical acts up for potential induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame back in October, the official Class of 2017 was unveiled on Tuesday.
The following have made the cut as determined by Rock Hall voters:

  • Pearl Jam
  • Tupac Shakur
  • Yes
  • Journey
  • Electric Light Orchestra
  • Joan Baez

Funk icon Nile Rodgers will also receive the Award for Musical Excellence.
The official induction ceremony is scheduled for April 7, 2017 at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York.
For Yes, this induction was a long time coming. Guitarist Steve Howe issued the following statement:
“What an honor this is for us and all involved with the history of this band. We thank all the Yes fans who have been so passionate over the decades, and helped us to keep the flag flying. It is the fans who have constantly demanded our inclusion. They have been heard.”
While drummer Alan White had this to say:
“We look forward to accepting this esteemed award next spring in honor of our fallen brother, Chris Squire, who would have been delighted to see his musical vision finally receive such recognition. We thank everyone who voted for YES. We’ll see you soon, Cleveland!”
Stay tuned for additional information about the 2017 Rock Hall of Fame induction ceremony and its crop of new additions!

Related Posts