Robin Trower: ‘No More Worlds to Conquer’ Album Out 4/29; Stream “The Razor’s Edge” & LP’s Title Track

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On April 29, legendary English guitarist Robin Trower, known for his lengthy solo career in addition to being a key member of Procol Harum over the years, will release a new record titled No More Worlds to Conquer.

Trower has been previewing the album, and the latest track arrived on Thursday in the form of “The Razor’s Edge.” Take a listen:

Some of the material on No More Worlds to Conquer, Trower says, are inspired by his perspective on the state of global politics these days, with “Cloud Across the Sun” and “The Razor’s Edge” being specifically cited in that context. “Those are definitely about my dissatisfaction with the politicians of the day — pointing the finger at the ones that don’t keep their promises,” said Trower in a statement.

Click here to pre-order No More Worlds to Conquer on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order No More Worlds to Conquer on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Here’s another song, the record’s title track:

Despite the album’s title, Trower reiterates that he still has much to say:

Few would dispute that the title of Robin Trower’s latest album – ‘No More Worlds To Conquer’ – is a fair summary of the thumbprint he has left on the musical universe. But as he reminds us, it should not be misinterpreted as his mission being accomplished. “I definitely feel like I’m still reaching,” he considers, “with the guitar, and the songs, and everything else.”

The track listing:

1. Ball of Fire
2. No More Worlds to Conquer
3. Deadly Kiss
4. Birdsong
5. Losing You
6. Waiting for the Rain to Fall
7. Wither on the Vine
8. Cloud Across the Sun
9. Fire to Ashes
10. The Razor’s Edge
11. I Will Always be Your Shelter

And some additional details about the record:

Once again, Trower also handles bass duties, but as a lifelong servant of the song over his own ego, he didn’t hesitate to enlist other musicians. “Livingstone Brown played bass on three tracks, and Chris Taggart is on drums,” he explains. “He’s a wonderful drummer, and he’s done the last three or four albums. And I started to realize, after I’d tried to sing these songs myself, that I wasn’t vocally up to it. Richard Watts has done a great job on vocals. He’s got a fantastic instrument – such a soulful singer – and he’s willing to get it exactly how I’m hearing it in my head. The other great thing about having Richard is that there’s quite a few songs on this album that I wouldn’t be able to play and sing live at the same time.”

“It was difficult, but I’m glad I did it,” he considers. “This album is an evolution. I’m hoping that’s what is always happening with my music. There’s a huge step between Bridge Of Sighs and now. It’s like anything. The more you work on it, in theory, the better you should be at it. And I definitely feel like this album is one of the best things I’ve ever done.”

Related Posts