Robert Plant Announces ‘Digging Deep: Subterranea’ Two-CD Anthology Spanning 30 Songs, Four Decades and Featuring Three Unreleased Recordings

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

On Oct. 2, Robert Plant will release Digging Deep: Subterranea, a new 2-CD anthology featuring material from throughout his lasting career as one of rock and roll’s most versatile vocalists.

(Click here to browse Robert Plant’s catalog of music in our Rock Cellar Store).

The set will span 30 songs and four decades of music, and will feature three previously unreleased new recordings. The musical journey will take listeners through Plant’s unpredictable career, and along the way will feature guest appearances from Jimmy Page, Buddy Miller, Patty Griffin, Phil Collins, Nigel Kennedy, Richard Thompson and Strange Sensation/ The Sensational Space Shifters.

It should come as no surprise to those aware of Plant’s career trajectory to consider that this doesn’t have much at all to do with his musical output with Led Zeppelin. In 2018, Plant spoke with Rock Cellar’s Jeff Slate about his album Carry Fire (click here to pick up a copy), and explained why he isn’t seeking “success” in the vein of selling millions of records anymore:

“It’s okay on the way up to think that’s all it’s all about, but when you’ve been there and you know how shatteringly insular everything becomes, then your relationship with this carnival we have becomes priceless. To try and make it something to fit in with a symbol of success just for the hell of it, I don’t think that’s really where I’m at this time in my life.”

Here’s the track listing for Digging Deep: Subterranea:

Hurting Kind
Shine It All Around
Ship of Fools
Nothing Takes the Place of You *
Darkness, Darkness
Heaven Knows
In the Mood
Charlie Patton Highway (Turn It Up – Part 1) *
New World
Like I’ve Never Been Gone
I Believe
Dance with You Tonight
Satan Your Kingdom Must Come Down
Great Spirit (Acoustic)

Angel Dance
Wreckless Love
White Clean & Neat
Silver Rider
Fat Lip
29 Palms
Last Time I Saw Her
Embrace Another Fall
Too Much Alike (Feat. Patty Griffin) *
Big Log
Falling in Love Again
Memory Song (Hello Hello)
Promised Land


The compilation’s title gets its name from Digging Deep with Robert Plant, his podcast which begins its third season today, July 27. Per a news release, five brand new episodes will premiere every two weeks, all recorded earlier this year with BBC 6 Music’s Matt Everitt before a live audience at London’s Rough Trade East. 

Related Posts