Robert Plant & Alison Krauss Reunite for New LP ‘Raise the Roof’ (Out 11/19), Share Lucinda Williams Cover “Can’t Let Go”

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Nov. 19, Robert Plant and Alison Krauss will release Raise the Roof, a new collaborative album continuing the creative spark the two explored with 2007’s Raising Sand. That record won Album of the Year at the Grammy Awards (among five Grammy wins) and was a powerful collection of music from the longtime Led Zeppelin vocalist and the bluegrass/country singer/songwriter — two musical forces from different ends of the spectrum.

The new record was announced on Thursday, and came with the premiere of a lively, warm track called “Can’t Let Go,” originally by Lucinda Williams:

Click here to pre-order Raise the Roof on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Raise the Roof on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Robert Plant and Alison Krauss have plans to tour in support of the album in 2022 — stay tuned for more news on that front.

Here’s the track listing for Raise The Roof, which based on the first preview sounds like another winning collaboration from these two:

1. Quattro (World Drifts In)
2. The Price Of Love
3. Go Your Way
4. Trouble With My Lover
5. Searching For My Love
6. Can’t Let Go
7. It Don’t Bother Me
8. You Led Me To The Wrong
9. Last Kind Words Blues
10. High And Lonesome
11. Going Where The Lonely Go
12. Somebody Was Watching Over Me

More about the new album, via Rounder Records’ news release:

Like its predecessor, Raise The Roof was produced by T Bone Burnett, who worked with Plant and Krauss to expand their collaboration in thrilling new directions, accompanied by drummer Jay Bellerose, guitarists Marc Ribot, David Hidalgo, Bill Frisell, and Buddy Miller, bassists Dennis Crouch and Viktor Krauss, along with pedal steel guitarist Russ Pahl among others. The album features twelve new recordings of songs by legends and unsung heroes including Merle Haggard, Allen Toussaint, The Everly Brothers, Anne Briggs, Geeshie Wiley, Bert Jansch and more. Other highlights include a Plant-Burnett original, “High and Lonesome,” and the classic “Can’t Let Go,” written by Randy Weeks and first recorded by Lucinda Williams.

The songs selected for Raise The Roof alternately reflect deep-rooted influences and new revelations. For his part, Robert Plant was keen to introduce the English folk traditions he has loved since adolescence, while Krauss cites hearing “Quattro (World Drifts In)” by the American group Calexico, as “the moment I knew we’d make another album.”

“We wanted it to move,” Krauss continues. “We brought other people in, other personalities within the band, and coming back together again in the studio brought a new intimacy to the harmonies.”

Adds Plant: “You hear something and you go ‘Man, listen to that song, we got to sing that song!’ It’s a vacation, really—the perfect place to go that you least expected to find.”

Related Posts