Watch a Lyric Video for “Can’t Let Go” from Robert Plant and Alison Krauss; New Album ‘Raise the Roof’ Out 11/19

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Another preview of Raise the Roof, the collaborative new album from Robert Plant and Alison Krauss, arrived recently in the form of a new lyric video for “Can’t Let Go,” originally penned by Randy Weeks and performed by Lucinda Williams.

Stream the track below:

“Can’t Let Go” was the first track shared from the album, though that lyric video is a new addition to the pre-release promotional campaign.

Raise the Roof, due out Nov. 19, continues the creative spark the two explored with 2007’s Raising Sand. That record won Album of the Year at the Grammy Awards (among five Grammy wins) and was a powerful collection of music from the longtime Led Zeppelin vocalist and the bluegrass/country singer/songwriter — two musical forces from different ends of the spectrum.

Click here to pre-order Raise the Roof on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Raise the Roof on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The album features a handful of hand-selected cover songs from over the years, as well as one original tune. Here’s that one, “High and Lonesome,” co-written by Plant and producer T Bone Burnett:

Plant and Krauss hope to announce tour plans in support of the record for 2022, so stay tuned for that.

And the track listing for Raise The Roof, which based on the first preview sounds like another winning collaboration from these two:

1. Quattro (World Drifts In)
2. The Price Of Love
3. Go Your Way
4. Trouble With My Lover
5. Searching For My Love
6. Can’t Let Go
7. It Don’t Bother Me
8. You Led Me To The Wrong
9. Last Kind Words Blues
10. High And Lonesome
11. Going Where The Lonely Go
12. Somebody Was Watching Over Me

More about the new album, via Rounder Records’ news release:

Like its predecessor, Raise The Roof was produced by T Bone Burnett, who worked with Plant and Krauss to expand their collaboration in thrilling new directions, accompanied by drummer Jay Bellerose, guitarists Marc Ribot, David Hidalgo, Bill Frisell, and Buddy Miller, bassists Dennis Crouch and Viktor Krauss, along with pedal steel guitarist Russ Pahl among others. The album features twelve new recordings of songs by legends and unsung heroes including Merle Haggard, Allen Toussaint, The Everly Brothers, Anne Briggs, Geeshie Wiley, Bert Jansch and more. Other highlights include a Plant-Burnett original, “High and Lonesome,” and the classic “Can’t Let Go,” written by Randy Weeks and first recorded by Lucinda Williams.

The songs selected for Raise The Roof alternately reflect deep-rooted influences and new revelations. For his part, Robert Plant was keen to introduce the English folk traditions he has loved since adolescence, while Krauss cites hearing “Quattro (World Drifts In)” by the American group Calexico, as “the moment I knew we’d make another album.”

“We wanted it to move,” Krauss continues. “We brought other people in, other personalities within the band, and coming back together again in the studio brought a new intimacy to the harmonies.”

Adds Plant: “You hear something and you go ‘Man, listen to that song, we got to sing that song!’ It’s a vacation, really—the perfect place to go that you least expected to find.”

Related Posts