Hear the Trippy ‘Slide Home,’ from the New Album from Robby Krieger of The Doors (Out 4/24)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On April 24, legendary guitarist Robby Krieger of the Doors will release The Ritual Begins at Sundown, a new solo record and his first in a decade.

On Thursday, Krieger premiered a psychedelic new visualization for the song “Slide Home,” taken from the album as a preview:

The Ritual Begins at Sundown will be released via the Players Club/Mascot Label Group, and was announced on Friday. This will be Krieger’s ninth proper solo record and the first since Singularity, which was released in 2010.

The record was first previewed with “The Drift” a few weeks back:

For this record, Krieger worked with a host of musicians known for their work with Frank Zappa — namely, writing partner/producer Arthur Barrow, plus Jock Ellis (Trombone), Sal Marquez (Trumpet) and Tommy Mars (Keys) as well as AeB Bryne (Flute), Vince Denim (Sax), Chuck Manning (Sax), Joel Wackerman (Drums) and Joel Taylor (Drums).

“I was hanging out with my buddy Arthur Barrow and we had some songs we had been fooling around with then we got some other friends involved,” explained Robby Krieger in a statement about how this record came about.

View this post on Instagram

I’m very happy to announce my first solo album in ten years, The Ritual Begins at Sundown, out April 24 on The Players Club, an imprint of Mascot Label Group. The first track, “The Drift’, is out now everywhere. Hear the song or pre-order the album on CD, LP or Digitally at https://smarturl.it/RobbyKrieger ‘The Ritual Begins At Sundown’ is a 10 song instrumental record with 9 originals and one cover, the Frank Zappa song ‘Chunga’s Revenge,’ The album features Krieger's long time writing partner, co-producer and former Zappa bassist Arthur Barrow, and Zappa alumni Tommy Mars (keyboards) and Chad Wackerman (drums). Highly recommended for Zappateers and fans of adventurous guitar histrionics.

A post shared by OfficialRobbyKrieger (@officialrobbykrieger) on

The Ritual Begins at Sundown will feature 10 tracks, all of them instrumental, recorded at Krieger’s own Horse Latitudes Studio in Los Angeles — Krieger and the Zappa alumni even tackle the Zappa track “Chunga’s Revenge,” in addition to the other nine original compositions on the album.

If you haven’t yet, click here to read our recent feature on the Doors’ Ray Manzarek, including reflections from Krieger and drummer John Densmore. 

Here’s the record’s track listing:

1. “What Was That?”
2. “Slide Home”
3. “The Drift”
4. “Chunga’s Revenge”
5. “Hot Head”
6. “Yes, The River Knows”
7. “The Hitch”
8. “Dr. Noir”
9. “Bianca’s Dream”
10. ‘Screen Junkies”

Related Posts