The Doors’ Robby Krieger Announces New Album, ‘The Ritual Begins at Sundown,’ a Collaboration with Frank Zappa Alumni (Preview with ‘The Drift’)

Adrian GarroCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Robby Krieger is a legend, his riffs and work as a principal member of the Doors renowned for years — and on April 24, he’ll release his first new solo album in a decade.

The Ritual Begins at Sundown will be released via the Players Club/Mascot Label Group, and was announced on Friday. This will be Krieger’s ninth proper solo record and the first since Singularity, which was released in 2010.

For this record, Krieger worked with a host of musicians known for their work with Frank Zappa — namely, writing partner/producer Arthur Barrow, plus Jock Ellis (Trombone), Sal Marquez (Trumpet) and Tommy Mars (Keys) as well as AeB Bryne (Flute), Vince Denim (Sax), Chuck Manning (Sax), Joel Wackerman (Drums) and Joel Taylor (Drums).

That amazing ensemble of musicians coalesces on the track “The Drift,” a breezy, jazzy instrumental that was premiered along with the album news:

“I was hanging out with my buddy Arthur Barrow and we had some songs we had been fooling around with then we got some other friends involved,” explained Robby Krieger in a statement about how this record came about.

The Ritual Begins at Sundown will feature 10 tracks, all of them instrumental, recorded at Krieger’s own Horse Latitudes Studio in Los Angeles — Krieger and the Zappa alumni even tackle the Zappa track “Chunga’s Revenge,” in addition to the other nine original compositions on the album.

If you haven’t yet, click here to read our recent feature on the Doors’ Ray Manzarek, including reflections from Krieger and drummer John Densmore. 

Here’s the record’s track listing:

1. “What Was That?”
2. “Slide Home”
3. “The Drift”
4. “Chunga’s Revenge”
5. “Hot Head”
6. “Yes, The River Knows”
7. “The Hitch”
8. “Dr. Noir”
9. “Bianca’s Dream”
10. ‘Screen Junkies”

Related Posts