Drift Out to the Edge with ‘Hot Head,’ a New Song from Robby Krieger of the Doors (ft. Frank Zappa Band Alumni)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On August 14, Robby Krieger, legendary guitarist of The Doors, will release The Ritual Begins at Sundown, a new album that he has been previewing in recent weeks with a handful of mind-bending instrumental tracks (when not informing Doors fans how to play some of the band’s classic songs in a YouTube tutorial series, that is).

The latest is “Hot Head,” premiered on Thursday. The jammy composition, paired with the visual psychedelics in the video below, will help you relax for a few minutes:

The Ritual Begins at Sundown will be the ninth solo album from Robby Krieger and the first since 2010’s Singularity. The album pairs Krieger with longtime pal/colleague Arthur Barrow, who among his lengthy list of credits worked alongside Frank Zappa in the 1970s and ’80s.

The album also features contributions from other Zappa alumni Jock Ellis (Trombone), Sal Marquez (Trumpet) and Tommy Mars (Keys) as well as AeB Bryne (Flute), Vince Denim (Sax), Chuck Manning (Sax), Joel Wackerman (Drums) and Joel Taylor (Drums).

Here’s “The Drift,” which was released previously:

And “Slide Home”:

More on the record, per a press release:

The album really is a return to friends with his relationship with Barrow and Sal Marquez dating all the way back to his first solo album. “After The Doors I started becoming interested in Jazz and started hanging out with a guy called Sal Marquez,” he says. “So we put this band together and that was the first Robby Krieger band and we played at the Whiskey A-Go-Go with Don Preston, Zappa’s keyboard player. Arthur Barrow who was a huge Zappa fan –  this was before he worked with Frank – he decided that, after graduating from North Texas State music school that he was gonna come out to LA and try to get into Frank’s band, which was pretty brash of him,” he laughs. “He started hanging out with Don and with Zappa, Don was in my band so we decided to put Arthur in charge of the mixing at the Whiskey for our shows, that’s when I first met him in the 70s.”

The Ritual Begins at Sundown will feature 10 tracks, all of them instrumental, recorded at Krieger’s own Horse Latitudes Studio in Los Angeles — Krieger and the Zappa alumni even tackle the Zappa track “Chunga’s Revenge,” in addition to the other nine original compositions on the album.

Here’s the track listing:

1. “What Was That?”
2. “Slide Home”
3. “The Drift”
4. “Chunga’s Revenge”
5. “Hot Head”
6. “Yes, The River Knows”
7. “The Hitch”
8. “Dr. Noir”
9. “Bianca’s Dream”
10. ‘Screen Junkies”

Related Posts