Robbie Robertson Premieres New John Lennon-Inspired Song ‘Let Love Reign,’ a Collaboration with Glen Hansard (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Robbie Robertson, known for his legacy of music with the Band and as a prolific solo artist, will release a new record on September 20 with a collection of film-inspired songs titled Sinematic.

On Friday, Robertson premiered a song from the record featuring a guest appearance from esteemed singer/songwriter Glen Hansard. Titled “Let Love Reign,” the engaging track finds Robertson tackling “personal and political nightmares while craving a better future for “this beautiful broken world” and carrying on John Lennon’s plea for peace.”

Said Robertson of the track:

“Some people think John Lennon’s dream about love and togetherness went up in flames,” Robertson says. “I think that’s wrong. It’s everlasting. There was something a little naive about John Lennon going around singing about peace, but in that period young people celebrating love and peace helped end a war.”

More on the album’s inspiration, which has strong ties to Robertson’s creative relationship with film director Martin Scorsese and has a tie-in with the upcoming premiere of Once Were Brothers: Robbie Robertson and the Band:

For his new album, Robertson drew inspiration from his recent film score writing and recording for director Martin Scorsese’s eagerly anticipated organized crime epic “The Irishman,” as well as the forthcoming feature documentary film, “Once Were Brothers: Robbie Robertson and The Band,” based on his 2016 New York Times bestselling memoir “Testimony.” The documentary will celebrate its world premiere on Thursday, September 5 as the Opening Night Gala Presentation for the 44th Toronto International Film Festival.

“I was working on music for ‘The Irishman’ and working on the documentary, and these things were bleeding into each other,” says Robertson of the impetus for Sinematic. “I could see a path. Ideas for songs about haunting and violent and beautiful things were swirling together like a movie. You follow that sound and it all starts to take shape right in front of your ears. At some point, I started referring to it as ‘Peckinpah Rock’,” a nod, Robertson says, to Sam Peckinpah, the late director of such violent Westerns as “The Wild Bunch.”

The album’s track listing:

1. “I Hear You Paint Houses”
2. “Once Were Brothers”
3. “Dead End Kid”
4. “Hardwired”
5. “Walk In Beauty Way”
6. “Let Love Reign”
7. “Shanghai Blues”
8. “Wandering Souls”
9. “Street Serenade”
10. “The Shadow”
11. “Beautiful Madness”
12. “Praying For Rain”
13. “Remembrance”

Related Posts