Listen to Robbie Robertson’s Autobiographical New Song ‘Dead End Kid,’ Featuring Glen Hansard

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Robbie Robertson, revered guitarist/songwriter known for his work with the Band, has premiered another song off his upcoming solo record, Sinematic, which will be released next week, Sept. 20.

Titled “Dead End Kid,” this engaging track features singer/songwriter Glen Hansard, and can be streamed below:

As the song’s lyrics might suggest, “Dead End Kid” holds parallels to Robertson’s life experiences:

“When I was growing up in Toronto, I was telling people, ‘One of these days I’m going to make some music and go all over the world,’” Robertson said. “Everyone was like, that’s never going to happen. You’re a dead end kid. Because my relatives were First Nation people and Jewish gangsters, it was assumed my dreams were going to explode. I found strength in overcoming that disbelief.”

Robertson and Hansard teamed up for another song off the record, the John Lennon-inspired “Let Love Reign,” which was premiered recently too:

More on the album’s inspiration, which has strong ties to Robertson’s creative relationship with film director Martin Scorsese and has a tie-in with the upcoming premiere of Once Were Brothers: Robbie Robertson and the Band:

For his new album, Robertson drew inspiration from his recent film score writing and recording for director Martin Scorsese’s eagerly anticipated organized crime epic “The Irishman,” as well as the forthcoming feature documentary film, “Once Were Brothers: Robbie Robertson and The Band,” based on his 2016 New York Times bestselling memoir “Testimony.” The documentary will celebrate its world premiere on Thursday, September 5 as the Opening Night Gala Presentation for the 44th Toronto International Film Festival.

“I was working on music for ‘The Irishman’ and working on the documentary, and these things were bleeding into each other,” says Robertson of the impetus for Sinematic. “I could see a path. Ideas for songs about haunting and violent and beautiful things were swirling together like a movie. You follow that sound and it all starts to take shape right in front of your ears. At some point, I started referring to it as ‘Peckinpah Rock’,” a nod, Robertson says, to Sam Peckinpah, the late director of such violent Westerns as “The Wild Bunch.”

The album’s track listing:

1. “I Hear You Paint Houses”
2. “Once Were Brothers”
3. “Dead End Kid”
4. “Hardwired”
5. “Walk In Beauty Way”
6. “Let Love Reign”
7. “Shanghai Blues”
8. “Wandering Souls”
9. “Street Serenade”
10. “The Shadow”
11. “Beautiful Madness”
12. “Praying For Rain”
13. “Remembrance”

Related Posts