Hear Richie Furay Cover Marc Cohn’s “Walking in Memphis”; ‘In the Country’ LP Coming 7/8

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On July 8, Richie Furay will add to his musical legacy with a new record titled In the Country. Officially detailed in late April, it will be the ninth solo studio album from the Rock and Roll Hall of Famer beloved for his work with Buffalo Springfield and Poco.

In the Country will find Furay channeling some of musical inspiration in the form of reinterpretations of iconic country songs — like Marc Cohn’s contemporary classic “Walking in Memphis,” which Furay shared on Wednesday with a performance video:

“Rock & roll and country, that’s really what I’m all about,” Furay said in a statement. “It’s the sound that first really touched me as a child, and it’s stayed a constant in my life all these years, both personally and professionally.”

Furay previously shared his take on Keith Urban’s “Somebody Like You” to preview the collection:

More on the album:

The twelve-song set features his masterful versions of such chart-topping country classics as “The River” (Garth Brooks), “I’m In a Hurry and I Don’t Know Why” (Alabama), and “I Hope You Dance” (Lee Ann Womack). Also included are the crossover hits “Take Me Home, Country Roads” (John Denver) and “Walking in Memphis” (Marc Cohn), as well as Rickie Nelson’s 1958 smash “Lonesome Town” and the Julie Miller-penned Americana gem “Chalk.” Plus, there are two exclusive digital bonus tracks: Furay’s new rendition of Poco’s signature song “Pickin’ Up the Pieces.” and George Strait’s hit, “I Cross My Heart.”

To bring this dream project together, Furay teamed with his old pal, multi-Grammy Award-winning producer Val Garay (Linda Ronstadt, Kim Carnes, James Taylor), and recorded at Nashville’s legendary Blackbird Studio. Garay assembled a group of stellar Nashville session musicians: drummer Victor Indrizzo, bassist Glenn Worf, keyboardist Steven Jay Nathan, pedal steel player Dan Dugmore, and guitarists Tom Bukovac and Chris Leuzinger.

Click here to pre-order In the Country on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order In the Country on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The track listing and Furay’s upcoming tour dates, with more coming soon:

1. Somebody Like You
2. I Hope You Dance
3. Take Me Home, Country Roads
4. She Don’t Know She’s Beautiful
5. Your Love Amazes Me
6. I’m In a Hurry (And Don’t Know Why)
7. Lonesome Town
8. Walking in Memphis
9. I’m Already There
10. The River
11. In This Life
12. Chalk

June 16 – Nashville, TN @ City Winery
June 17 – Nashville, TN @ Grand Ole Opry
June 18 – Nashville, TN @ Vinyl Tap (in-store RSD signing)
June 24 – New York, NY @ City Winery
July 13 – Los Angeles, CA – Grammy Museum
August 12 – Boston, MA @ City Winery

Related Posts