Richie Furay Covers Keith Urban’s “Somebody Like You”; New ‘In the Country’ Album Coming 7/8

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On July 8, Richie Furay will add to his musical legacy with a new record titled In the Country. Officially detailed on Thursday, it will be the ninth solo studio album from the Rock and Roll Hall of Famer beloved for his work with Buffalo Springfield and Poco.

Per a news release, In the Country will find Furay channeling some of musical inspiration in the form of reinterpretations of iconic country songs.

“Rock & roll and country, that’s really what I’m all about,” Furay said in a statement. “It’s the sound that first really touched me as a child, and it’s stayed a constant in my life all these years, both personally and professionally.”

The news was accompanied by a preview of the record in the form of Furay’s cover of “Somebody Like You,” originally a notable song by Keith Urban:

More on the album:

The twelve-song set features his masterful versions of such chart-topping country classics as “The River” (Garth Brooks), “I’m In a Hurry and I Don’t Know Why” (Alabama), and “I Hope You Dance” (Lee Ann Womack). Also included are the crossover hits “Take Me Home, Country Roads” (John Denver) and “Walking in Memphis” (Marc Cohn), as well as Rickie Nelson’s 1958 smash “Lonesome Town” and the Julie Miller-penned Americana gem “Chalk.” Plus, there are two exclusive digital bonus tracks: Furay’s new rendition of Poco’s signature song “Pickin’ Up the Pieces.” and George Strait’s hit, “I Cross My Heart.”

To bring this dream project together, Furay teamed with his old pal, multi-Grammy Award-winning producer Val Garay (Linda Ronstadt, Kim Carnes, James Taylor), and recorded at Nashville’s legendary Blackbird Studio. Garay assembled a group of stellar Nashville session musicians: drummer Victor Indrizzo, bassist Glenn Worf, keyboardist Steven Jay Nathan, pedal steel player Dan Dugmore, and guitarists Tom Bukovac and Chris Leuzinger.

Click here to shop Richie Furay in our Rock Cellar Store (In the Country pre-orders coming soon).

The track listing and Furay’s upcoming tour dates:

1. Somebody Like You
2. I Hope You Dance
3. Take Me Home, Country Roads
4. She Don’t Know She’s Beautiful
5. Your Love Amazes Me
6. I’m In a Hurry (And Don’t Know Why)
7. Lonesome Town
8. Walking in Memphis
9. I’m Already There
10. The River
11. In This Life
12. Chalk

Digital Bonus Tracks
1. I Cross My Heart
2. Pickin’ Up the Pieces

Richie Furay on Tour 2022 (more dates to be announced)
June 12 – South Orange, NJ @ South Orange Performing Arts Center
June 16 – Nashville, TN @ City Winery
June 24 – New York, NY @ City Winery
July 6 – Washington, D.C. @ City Winery
July 8 – Philadelphia, PA @ City Winery
August 12 – Boston, MA @ City Winery

Related Posts