Out Now: Richard Marx’s 4-Part New LP ‘Songwriter’ — ft. Burt Bacharach, Taylor Hawkins and More (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Songwriter is a new studio album from Richard Marx, the singer/songwriter/pop singer known for “Don’t Mean Nothing,” “Right Here Waiting” and more hits from the 1980s-90s.

Released today, Sept. 30, Songwriter is split into four separate sections: Pop, Rock, Country and Ballads, each featuring co-writes from Marx and special guests including his sons, Lucas and Jesse Marx, as well as Chris Daughtry, Jason Wade of Lifehouse and more — including “Always,” co-written by and featuring Burt Bacharach:

One of those other key co-writes with his son, Jesse, is “Shame On You,” featuring late Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins in one of his final recordings:

Marx discussed his kinship with Taylor in an interview with Ultimate Classic Rock about the Songwriter record. Via that chat:

Yeah, he was just so sweet – and I was a huge fan, a major fan. I mean, I love the Foo Fighters and I love Dave, but I was a huge, huge Taylor fan. He made some comment, “We’ve got to work together on something sometime.” I was like, “Yeah? Okay, great.” Then, we would just run into each other here and there. I moved into a gated community last year where he lives, so we started talking more. Jesse and I had written that song and he’s really good at drum programming, so he programmed a really great performance, but I said: “This needs a real player. You know what? Fuck it, I’m going to ask Taylor. The worst he can say is no.”

I said to him, “I’m going to ask you to play, but you have to promise me that if you don’t love the song or if you’re not into it, don’t do it as a favor to me. Like, we’re good – but only if you really dig the song.” He said, “Dude, I fuckin’ love the song! It’s so great!” He goes, “We’ll just do it over at my house!” But he said, “You’ve got to bring Jesse. Jesse’s got to be here too.” Jesse and I went and spent the afternoon over there and you know, he did it in three takes or something like that.

Click here to pick up Songwriter on CD from our Rock Cellar Store — On SALE

And that themed, segmented track listing (all songs written or co-written by Richard Marx):


  1. Same Heartbreak Different Day (Lucas Marx, Michael Jade)
  2. Believe In Me (Lucas Marx)
  3. Anything (Bruce Weigner)
  4. Moscow Calling
  5. Only A Memory (Adam Messinger)


  1. Shame On You (Jesse Marx)
  2. Just Go
  3. My Love, My Enemy (Matt Scannell)
  4. One More Yesterday (Chris Daughtry/Jason Wade)
  5. We Are Not Alone (Jesse Marx)


  1. Everything I’ve Got
  2. One Day Longer (Keith Urban)
  3. Breaking My Heart (Darius Rucker/David Hodges)
  4. Misery Loves Company (Lucas Marx/Bruce Weigner)
  5. We Had It All (Randy Hauser/Brice Long)


  1. Always (Burt Bacharach)
  2. Still In My Heart (Richard Page)
  3. As If We’ll Never Love Again (Gary Burr)
  4. Never After (Topher Brown)
  5. Maybe

Related Posts