Out Now: Red Hot Chili Peppers ‘Unlimited Love,’ ft. the Return of John Frusciante (on Fallon/Kimmel Tonight 4/1)

Adrian GarroCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Welcome back, Red Hot Chili Peppers — and guitarist John Frusciante.

The heralded Frusciante returns on Unlimited Love, a new album from the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame band that was released to the masses on Friday. Featuring 17 songs and a blend of familiar sounds and fresh experiments from the group, it’s an adventurous listen through and through.

In connection with the record’s launch, which is the first Chili Peppers album with Frusciante in the mix since 2006’s Stadium Arcadium, the band shared a video for “These Are The Ways” — one of the more unexpected songs on the album, at least in terms of its structure.

The video stars band members Anthony Kiedis, Flea, John Frusciante and Chad Smith in a slightly chaotic narrative:

Click here to pick up Unlimited Love on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up Unlimited Love on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Tonight, April 1, the Red Hot Chili Peppers will be featured musical guests on both Jimmy Kimmel Live! and The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, so stay tuned for that.

They’ll also appear on the Howard Stern Show next Tuesday, April 5:

Here’s a bit more on the album, lifted from our Unlimited Love review:

For 17 songs, Unlimited Love is the sound of a veteran band in the pocket, so to speak, a batch of songs from especially prolific recording sessions that may inspire some to deride the album as “safe.” But diving into the record, it becomes apparent quickly how uniquely inspired the band felt by this new chapter, branching out on a few occasions within the parameters of that “classic” sound. For this album, the band reunited with producer/old friend Rick Rubin, who helmed previous albums Blood Sugar Sex MagikOne Hot MinuteCalifornicationBy the WayStadium Arcadium and I’m With You.

red hot chili peppers unlimited love

“I really didn’t want to tell the same old story that we’ve been hearing for the last 50 years in rock music,” Kiedis said in a new NME interview about the album. “I liked reaching out in 10,000 directions and seeing what was out there. We weren’t limiting ourselves but trying to tap into something that is honest and emotional. Hopefully we’ve said something that hasn’t been said before, or at least said it in a way that hasn’t.” He went on to credit Frusciante’s return as a “monumental change in our lives,” one powerful enough to inspire the creative burst laid out on this record.

“Black Summer” was probably the best option for a lead single to signal this new/old era, its familiar “Red Hot Chili Peppers radio single” vibe paired with a performance video reintroducing Frusciante to the world:

The Red Hot Chili Peppers are one of those acts whose music takes you somewhere. Maybe it’s memories of driving down the Pacific Coast Highway under the sun to “Dani California.” Maybe it’s a flashback to the summer of 1992, skateboarding down the block with your friends. Perhaps it’s riding in the car on your way to school, “Scar Tissue” playing on the local adult contemporary/pop radio station.

The journey of Unlimited Love is one of renewed passion and vigor, Frusciante’s return clearly injecting new life into the band’s creative well. While it may be a few tracks too long, it’s hard to knock the effort.

Unlimited Love track listing:

1. Black Summer
2. Here Ever After
3. Aquatic Mouth Dance
4. Not the One
5. Poster Child
6. The Great Apes
7. It’s Only Natural
8. She’s a Lover
9. These Are the Ways
10. Whatchu Thinkin’
11. Bastards of Light
12. White Braids ; Pillow Chair
13. One Way Traffic
14. Veronica
15. Let ‘Em Cry
16. The Heavy Wing
17. Tangelo

Stream it below.

Related Posts