New Red Hot Chili Peppers: Hear John Frusciante’s Guitar Shimmer on “Not The One,” ‘Unlimited Love’ LP Out 4/1


Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

As promised by the band this week on social media, the Red Hot Chili Peppers have unleashed a new song, “Not the One,” the third preview of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame band’s new record Unlimited Love.

Take a listen to the slow-burning track highlighted by some ethereal John Frusciante guitar tones below:

Unlimited Love is an especially anticipated new album from the Chili Peppers, one that that finds Frusciante back in the mix for the first time since leaving the band in 2009. It’s also the first release from the band with Frusciante on lead guitar duties since 2006’s double album Stadium Arcadium.

Click here to pre-order Unlimited Love on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Unlimited Love on Deluxe LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Here’s “Black Summer,” the first song shared from the album recapturing that classic “Chili Peppers radio single” sound:

And the funk blast of “Poster Child”:

Said the band of the record:

“Our only goal is to get lost in the music. We (John, Anthony, Chad and Flea) spent thousands of hours, collectively and individually, honing our craft and showing up for one another, to make the best album we could. Our antennae attuned to the divine cosmos, we were just so damn grateful for the opportunity to be in a room together, and, once again, try to get better. Days, weeks and months spent listening to each other, composing, jamming freely, and arranging the fruit of those jams with great care and purpose. The sounds, rhythms, vibrations, words and melodies had us enrapt.

“We yearn to shine a light in the world, to uplift, connect, and bring people together. Each of the songs on our new album UNLIMITED LOVE, is a facet of us, reflecting our view of the universe. This is our life’s mission. We work, focus, and prepare, so that when the biggest wave comes, we are ready to ride it. The ocean has gifted us a mighty wave and this record is the ride that is the sum of our lives. Thank you for listening, we hope you enjoy it.”

The Unlimited Love track listing:

Black Summer
Here Ever After
Aquatic Mouth Dance
Not the One
Poster Child
The Great Apes
It’s Only Natural
She’s A Lover
These Are The Ways
Whatchu Thinkin’
Bastards of Light
White Braids & Pillow Chair
One Way Traffic
Veronica
Let ‘Em Cry
The Heavy Wing
Tangelo

The Red Hot Chili Peppers’ 2022 world tour dates:

Europe

Sat Jun 04 – Seville, Spain – Estadio La Cartuja De Sevilla=
Tue Jun 07 – Barcelona, Spain – Estadi Olimpic=
Fri Jun 10 – Nijmegen, Netherlands – Goffertpark=
Wed Jun 15 – Budapest, Hungary – Puskas Stadium=
Sat Jun 18 – Firenze, Italy – Firenze Rocks (festival date)
Wed Jun 22 – Manchester, UK – Emirates Old Trafford=
Sat Jun 25 – London, UK – London Stadium~
Wed Jun 29 – Dublin, Ireland – Marlay Park~
Fri Jul 01 – Glasgow, UK – Bellahouston Park~
Sun Jul 03 – Leuven, Belgium – Rock Werchter (festival date)
Tue Jul 05 – Cologne, Germany – RheinEnergieStadium=
Fri Jul 08 – Paris, France – Stade de France~
Tue Jul 12 – Hamburg, Germany – Volksparkstadion=

North America

Sat Jul 23 – Denver, CO – Empower Field at Mile High*
Wed Jul 27 – San Diego, CA – Petco Park*
Fri Jul 29 – Santa Clara, CA – Levi’s Stadium+
Sun Jul 31 – Los Angeles, CA – SoFi Stadium+
Wed Aug 03 – Seattle, WA – T-Mobile Park^
Sat Aug 06 – Las Vegas, NV – Allegiant Stadium^^
Wed Aug 10 – Atlanta, GA – Truist Park^
Fri Aug 12 – Nashville, TN – Nissan Stadium^
Sun Aug 14 – Detroit, MI – Comerica Park^
Wed Aug 17 – E. Rutherford, NJ – Metlife Stadium^
Fri Aug 19 – Chicago, IL – Soldier Field^
Sun Aug 21 – Toronto, ON – Rogers Centre^
Tue Aug 30 – Miami, FL – Hard Rock Stadium^
Thu Sep 01 – Charlotte, NC – Bank of America Stadium^
Sat Sep 03 – Philadelphia, PA – Citizens Bank Park^
Thu Sep 08 – Washington, DC – Nationals Park^
Sat Sep 10 – Boston, MA – Fenway Park# (on sale date TBA)
Thu Sep 15 – Orlando, FL – Camping World Stadium^
Sun Sep 18 – Arlington, TX – Globe Life Field^

=with special guests A$AP Rocky and Thundercat
~with special guests Anderson .Paak & The Free Nationals and Thundercat
*with special guests HAIM and Thundercat
+with special guests Beck and Thundercat
^with special guests The Strokes and Thundercat
^^with special guests The Strokes and King Princess
#with special guests St. Vincent and Thundercat



Related Posts