Out Now: Primus ‘Conspiranoid’ EP, First New Music from Les Claypool & Co. in 5 Years; Rush Tribute Tour on Now


Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Having recently relaunched its A Tribute to Kings tour honoring Rush, Les Claypool and Primus had even more in store: on Friday, the irreverent and revered experimental rock band released Conspiranoid, a three-song EP that marks the first bit of new material from Primus in five years.

Here’s a fittingly trippy music video for the EP’s 11-minute title track, described by Claypool as “a long, winding, bastard of a song”:

“‘Conspiranoia’ was sprouted from a seed I had planted in my notebook a year or so ago — a few lines commenting on the mental state of the contemporary world,” said Claypool in a statement.

Click here to pre-order Conspiranoid on white LP from our Rock Cellar Store (release date: Aug. 5)

More, per a news release:

The ‘Conspiranoid’ EP follows the release of “Zelensky: The Man With the Iron Balls,” a collaboration with Eugene Hütz of Gogol Bordello, written to rally support for the Ukrainian people. Released this week via Rolling Stone, the track also features Stewart Copeland, Sean Lennon, Billy Strings, and Sergey Ryabtsev, with proceeds supporting Nova Ukraine, a nonprofit organization dedicated to providing humanitarian aid to the people of Ukraine. The artists are inviting listeners to show their support by submitting clips of themselves, their friends, colleagues, children, pets, or anyone else they deem appropriate clapping along to the song. Video clips can be sent to ironballs@primusville.com and additional details can be found in the video notes here.

The Conspiranoid track listing:

1. Conspiranoia
2. Follow The Fool
3. Erin On The Side Of Caution

Stream the EP below.

And the A Tribute to Kings tour schedule, which will find Primus covering Rush’s 1977 classic album A Farewell to Kings in its entirety before a set of their own material:

Friday, April 22 – Cedar Rapids, IA – McGrath Amphitheatre *^
Saturday, April 23 – Madison, WI – The Sylvee *
Monday, April 25 – Knoxville, TN – Tennessee Theatre*
Wednesday, April 27 – New Orleans, LA – Saenger Theatre *^
Saturday, April 30 – Huntsville, AL – Mars Music Hall, Von Braun Center *
Tuesday, May 3 – Miami Beach, FL – The Fillmore *
Wednesday, May 4 – St. Petersburg, FL – Mahaffey Theater, Duke Energy Center for the Arts *
Friday, May 6 – North Charleston, SC – North Charleston Performing Arts Center *
Saturday, May 7 – Saint Augustine, FL – The Saint Augustine Amphitheatre *
Monday, May 9 – Nashville, TN – Ryman Auditorium *
Tuesday, May 10 – Fort Wayne, IN – The Clyde Theatre *
Friday, May 13 – Toronto, ON – Massey Hall +
Saturday, May 14 – Toronto, ON – Massey Hall +
Monday, May 16 – Montreal, QC – L’Olympia +
Tuesday, May 17 – Quebec, QC – Videotron Centre +
Wednesday, May 18 – Albany, NY – Palace Theatre *
Friday, May 20 – Port Chester, NY – The Capitol Theatre *
Saturday, May 21 – Montclair, NJ – Wellmont Theater *
Sunday, May 22 – Huntington, NY – The Paramount *
Tuesday, May 24 – Washington, D.C. – Warner Theatre *
Wednesday, May 25 – Bethlehem, PA – The Wind Creek Event Center *
Friday, May 27 – Atlantic City, NJ – Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa *
Saturday, May 28 – LaFayette, NY – Beak & Skiff Apple Orchards *
Monday, May 30 – Louisville, KY – Old Forester’s Paristown Hall *
Tuesday, May 31 – Grand Rapids, MI – GLC Live at 20 Monroe *
Thursday, June 2 – Milwaukee, WI – BMO Harris Pavilion *^
Friday, June 3 – Saint Paul, MN – Palace Theatre *
Saturday, June 4 – Winnipeg, MB – Burton Cummings Theatre for the Performing Arts +
Monday, June 6 – Regina, SK – Conexus Arts Centre – Capital Auto Theatre +
Tuesday, June 7 – Saskatoon, SK – TCU Place – Sid Buckwold Theatre +
Thursday, June 9 – Calgary, AB – Grey Eagle Event Centre, Grey Eagle Resort & Casino +
Friday, June 10 – Edmonton, AB – Edmonton Expo Centre +
Sunday, June 12 – Vancouver, BC – The Orpheum +
Tuesday, June 14 – Troutdale, OR – Edgefield ~
Wednesday, June 15 – Redding, CA – Redding Civic Auditorium ~
Friday, June 17 – Sacramento, CA – Sacramento Memorial Auditorium ~
Saturday, June 18 – Reno, NV – Grand Theatre, Grand Sierra Resort and Casino ~
Sunday, June 19 – San Jose, CA – San Jose Civic ~
Tuesday, June 21 – Santa Barbara, CA – Arlington Theatre ~
Thursday, June 23 – Riverside, CA – Riverside Municipal Auditorium ~
Friday, June 24 – Long Beach, CA – Terrace Theater, Long Beach Convention & Entertainment Center ~
Saturday, June 25 – Las Vegas, NV – The Theater at Virgin Hotels Las Vegas ~^
Friday, August 12 – Vail, CO – Gerald R. Ford Amphitheatre
Saturday, August 13 – Vail, CO – Gerald R. Ford Amphitheatre

EUROPE TOUR
Friday, September 9 – Stockholm, Sweden – Fryshuset Arenan
Saturday, September 10 – Oslo, Norway – Oslo Spektrum
Monday, September 12 – Copenhagen, Denmark – Vega
Wednesday, September 14 – Berlin, Germany – Huxley’s Neue Welt
Friday, September 16 – Warsaw, Poland – Klub Stodola
Saturday, September 17 – Prague, Czechia – Forum Karlin
Sunday, September 18 – Munich, Germany – TonHalle München
Tuesday, September 20 – Zürich, Switzerland – Kaufleuten
Wednesday, September 21 – Padova, Italy – Gran Teatro Geox
Friday, September 23 – Bogerhout, Belgium – De Roma
Saturday, September 24 – Paris, France – L’Olympia
Sunday, September 25 – Amsterdam, Netherlands – AFAS Live
Tuesday, September 27 – Glasgow, United Kingdom – 02 Academy Glasgow
Thursday, September 29 – London, United Kingdom – Eventim Apollo
Friday, September 30 – Manchester, United Kingdom – Manchester Academy
Saturday, October 1 – Dublin, Ireland – Olympia Theatre

* with Battles
+ with Black Mountain
~ with The Black Angels
^ Tickets are currently on sale for these performances



Related Posts