New from Paul Weller: Stream ‘Village,’ Featuring Mick Talbot on Keys — Weller’s New Album ‘On Sunset’ Due Out 6/19

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Esteemed English singer/songwriter Paul Weller has premiered “Village,” a new single from The Modfather’s upcoming album On Sunset, which is slated to be released on June 19.

Stream the warm track below, which features Weller’s old pal Mick Talbot of the Style Council on keyboards:

Said Weller of the track:

“It’s a response to being told that we’ve all got to explore the Amazon and climb Everest to make our lives complete,” says Weller. “And there’s a guy who says, fuck all that, I’ve got heaven around me.”.

The album has been pushed back one week from its original June 12th release date due to the COVID-19 pandemic:

“Village” is the second song released thus far from On Sunset, following “Earth Beat”:

A press release describes the On Sunset album as featuring ten “modern” new songs from Weller:

It’s a soul album, but at the same time it’s also an electronic album, an orchestral album, an album packed with masterly pop songs and heart-tugging ballads, and an album filled with touches of experimentalism. It’s also an album that sees Weller taking a rare glance into the rear-view mirror as he speeds into the 2020s.

Additional info:

Paul began working on the forthcoming new album On Sunset very soon after finishing 2018’s masterpiece “True Meanings”. On Sunset features ten classic yet modern Paul Weller songs including masterly pop classics, heart-tugging ballads and occasional touches of experimentalism. It’s an album that sees Weller taking a rare glance into the rear-view mirror as he speeds into the 2020s. 

Written and recorded at Black Barn Studios in Surrey, On Sunset was produced by Jan “Stan” Kybert and Paul himself with help from Charles Rees. String arrangements by Hannah Peel.

And the track listing for On Sunset:

1. Mirror Ball
2. Baptiste
3. Old Father Tyme
4. Village
5. More
6. On Sunset
7. Equanimity
8. Walkin’
9. Earth Beat
10. Rockets

Deluxe Bonus Tracks:
11. 4th Dimension
12. Ploughman
13. I’ll think of Something
14. On Sunset (Orchestral mix)
15. Baptiste (instrumental version)

Related Posts