New from Paul Weller: Stream ‘More,’ From His Upcoming Album ‘On Sunset’ Due 7/3

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

“More” is a new song from esteemed English rock icon Paul Weller, premiered on Wednesday as a preview of his upcoming album, On Sunset, which will be released July 3.

The atmospheric, groove-oriented song finds Weller feeling especially inspired, lyrically:

The more we get, the more we lose
When all is “more”, it’s more we choose
There’s always something else in store
That keeps me running down that road, keeps me running
To an unknown place I think is more

Stream the song below:

Weller’s anticipated new album was delayed a bit due to the COVID-19 pandemic, having originally been slated for a June release. It has been previewed in recent weeks with a handful of tracks in addition to “More,” songs such as “Village”:

And “Earth Beat”:

A press release describes the On Sunset album as featuring ten “modern” new songs from Weller:

It’s a soul album, but at the same time it’s also an electronic album, an orchestral album, an album packed with masterly pop songs and heart-tugging ballads, and an album filled with touches of experimentalism. It’s also an album that sees Weller taking a rare glance into the rear-view mirror as he speeds into the 2020s.

Additional info:

Paul began working on the forthcoming new album On Sunset very soon after finishing 2018’s masterpiece “True Meanings”. On Sunset features ten classic yet modern Paul Weller songs including masterly pop classics, heart-tugging ballads and occasional touches of experimentalism. It’s an album that sees Weller taking a rare glance into the rear-view mirror as he speeds into the 2020s.

Written and recorded at Black Barn Studios in Surrey, On Sunset was produced by Jan “Stan” Kybert and Paul himself with help from Charles Rees. String arrangements by Hannah Peel.

And the track listing for On Sunset:

1. Mirror Ball
2. Baptiste
3. Old Father Tyme
4. Village
5. More
6. On Sunset
7. Equanimity
8. Walkin’
9. Earth Beat
10. Rockets

Deluxe Bonus Tracks:
11. 4th Dimension
12. Ploughman
13. I’ll think of Something
14. On Sunset (Orchestral mix)
15. Baptiste (instrumental version)

Related Posts