Paul Stanley’s Soul Station Shares Performance Clip of ‘I, Oh I,’ from New Album Out 3/19

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Next week, KISS icon Paul Stanley will release the first full-length album with his engaging side project, Paul Stanley’s Soul Station. It’s an extension of his musical identity paying homage to his deep, lifelong affinity for soul/R&B (more on that later), and it’s a lot of fun.

On Friday, Stanley and his band shared a new performance video for “I, Oh I,” one of the album’s original compositions. Capturing the spirit of the ensemble in full form, it’s a great preview of the record to come:

Click here to pre-order Now and Then on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Now and Then on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Paul Stanley is the focus of our March “cover story” here at Rock Cellar, with writer Ken Sharp speaking at length with Stanley regarding this project and his affection for soul/R&B music. Click here to read the full interview.

Regarding “I, Oh I,” here’s what Stanley had to say about that song and the handful of other original tracks on the record:

One of my friends who was backstage when KISS was out on the “End of the Road” tour heard that and said, “These are seamless The new songs sound seamless with the old ones.” And another one of my friends, after he heard the album, said to me that his favorite song on the album was “Lorelei” and he asked where did it come from and who did it first? And I said, “What do you mean? And he said, “Well what’s the story behind it?”

And I said, “I wrote it.” So you know, I’m very pleased. I don’t expect everybody to love the album, but honestly, I could care less. That’s a freedom I signed up for when I started playing in a band, that I get to do what I wanna do. Part of being true to myself is following the path I want to go on.

And thankfully, just finishing the album, to me, was an incredible victory and accomplishment because that’s all I really wanted to do. Anything else is icing on the cake and what I’m thrilled at is that so far, the people who I would hope would love the album do and the views on YouTube in a few days have been pretty great from the ground up and we’re only getting started.

Joining Stanley in the Soul Station is an accomplished selection of musicians, including Rafael “Hoffa” Moreira (guitar & backing vocals), Sean Hurley (bass), Alex Alessandroni (Musical Director, keyboards), Ely Rise (keyboards), Eric Singer (drums & backing vocals), RayYslas (percussion), Gavyn Rhone (backing vocals), Crystal Starr (backing vocals) and Laurhan Beato (backing vocals) and Jon Pappenbrook (lead trumpet).

The track listing for the album:

1. Could It Be I’m Falling In Love
2. I Do
3. I, Oh I
4. Ooo Baby Baby
5. O-O-H Child
6. Save Me (From You)
7. Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)
8. Whenever You’re Ready (I’m Here)
9. The Tracks Of My Tears
10. Let’s Stay Together
11. La-La – Means I Love You
12. Lorelei
13. You Are Everything
14. Baby I Need Your Loving

Related Posts