Ozzy Osbourne Reunites with Tony Iommi for the Blistering “Degradation Rules” — from New LP ‘Patient Number 9’

Adrian GarroCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

If you’re curious what a new song bringing together Ozzy Osbourne and Tony Iommi might sound like in 2022, well, wonder no more.

Titled “Degradation Rules,” the aggressive, powerful track debuted on Friday as a preview of Osbourne‘s upcoming solo album, Patient Number 9, scheduled for release on Sept. 9.

Listen to the track, which brings back that oh-so-familiar pairing of Ozzy’s voice to Iommi’s heavy guitar work (and some slick harmonica reminiscent of “The Wizard”), below:

This mini-Black Sabbath reunion is the second preview so far from Patient Number 9, following the title track — which features Jeff Beck and was debuted as a music video directed by Todd McFarlane:

Click here to pre-order Patient Number 9 on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Patient Number 9 on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Patient Number 9 on cassette from our Rock Cellar Store

Patient Number 9 will be the follow-up to 2020’s Ordinary Man, which scored Osbourne a No. 1 hit around the world. Like that record, the new one was produced by Andrew Watt and features a host of special guests accompanying Ozzy and his band in the studio.

Per a news release:

Working with producer Watt for the second time, OZZY welcomed a dynamic A-list supporting cast. The record boasts guitarists Jeff Beck, Eric Clapton, Mike McCready of Pearl Jam, and longstanding righthand man and six-string beast Zakk Wylde who plays on the majority of the tracks. For the bulk of the album, Chad Smith of Red Hot Chili Peppers held down drums, while the late Taylor Hawkins of Foo Fighters made an appearance. Old friend and one-time OZZY band member Robert Trujillo of Metallica plays bass on most of the album’s tracks, with Duff McKagan of Guns N’ Roses and Chris Chaney of Jane’s Addiction supplying bass on a few songs. For the first time ever, Black Sabbath co-founder, guitarist, and riff-lord Tony Iommi appears on an OZZY solo album.

And the track listing, showcasing what’s sure to be some incredible team-ups:

1. Patient Number 9 (feat. Jeff Beck)
2. Immortal (feat. Mike McCready)
3. Parasite (feat. Zakk Wylde)
4. No Escape From Now (feat. Tony Iommi)
5. One of Those Days (feat. Eric Clapton)
6. A Thousand Shades (feat. Jeff Beck)
7. Mr. Darkness (feat. Zakk Wylde)
8. Nothing Feels Right (feat. Zakk Wylde)
9. Evil Shuffle (feat. Zakk Wylde)
10. Degradation Rules (feat. Tony Iommi)
11. Dead and Gone
12. God Only Knows

Stay tuned for more — and if you’re at Comic-Con in San Diego this weekend, keep your eyes peeled for this!

Related Posts