Watch Ozzy Osbourne’s First Public Performance Since 2019 — a Surprise Appearance with Tony Iommi

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Monday, Ozzy Osbourne and Tony Iommi surprised the world by appearing on stage in their hometown of Birmingham, England, to perform during the closing ceremonies of the 2022 Commonwealth Games.

This marked Osbourne’s first public performance since 2019, as the legendary singer has been going through a number of serious health matters that cancelled planned touring for the 73-year-old. Given what he’s been through, it’s anybody’s guess whether Osbourne will actually be able to tour in the future, so this one-off with his Black Sabbath pal Iommi is pretty special given the context.

Iommi was diagnosed with lymphoma in 2012 and said to be in remission as of 2016, so the guitarist, too, has been dealing with his own medical concerns.

At the surprise appearance at the Commonwealth Games, Osbourne and Iommi played a short Sabbath medley of “Iron Man” and “Paranoid,” flanked by bassist Adam Wakeman and drummer Tommy Clufetos, both of whom participated in some of Sabbath’s farewell tour activities a few years back.

Ozzy Osbourne and Tony Iommi also recently teamed up for a new song, “Degradation Blues,” a featured single on Patient Number 9, a new studio album from Ozzy coming out on Sept. 9:

Click here to pre-order Patient Number 9 on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Patient Number 9 on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Patient Number 9 on cassette from our Rock Cellar Store

Patient Number 9 will be the follow-up to 2020’s Ordinary Man, which scored Osbourne a No. 1 hit around the world. Like that record, the new one was produced by Andrew Watt and features a host of special guests accompanying Ozzy and his band in the studio.

Per a news release:

Working with producer Watt for the second time, OZZY welcomed a dynamic A-list supporting cast. The record boasts guitarists Jeff Beck, Eric Clapton, Mike McCready of Pearl Jam, and longstanding righthand man and six-string beast Zakk Wylde who plays on the majority of the tracks. For the bulk of the album, Chad Smith of Red Hot Chili Peppers held down drums, while the late Taylor Hawkins of Foo Fighters made an appearance. Old friend and one-time OZZY band member Robert Trujillo of Metallica plays bass on most of the album’s tracks, with Duff McKagan of Guns N’ Roses and Chris Chaney of Jane’s Addiction supplying bass on a few songs. For the first time ever, Black Sabbath co-founder, guitarist, and riff-lord Tony Iommi appears on an OZZY solo album.

And the track listing, showcasing what’s sure to be some incredible team-ups:

1. Patient Number 9 (feat. Jeff Beck)
2. Immortal (feat. Mike McCready)
3. Parasite (feat. Zakk Wylde)
4. No Escape From Now (feat. Tony Iommi)
5. One of Those Days (feat. Eric Clapton)
6. A Thousand Shades (feat. Jeff Beck)
7. Mr. Darkness (feat. Zakk Wylde)
8. Nothing Feels Right (feat. Zakk Wylde)
9. Evil Shuffle (feat. Zakk Wylde)
10. Degradation Rules (feat. Tony Iommi)
11. Dead and Gone
12. God Only Knows

Related Posts