New Music Out This Week 8/14: The Doors’ Robby Krieger, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Whitney, Fantastic Negrito, Bruce Hornsby and Biffy Clyro (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Today, Friday, Aug. 14 brought with it a number of notable new music releases from acts all across the wide spectrum of music. Below is our curated list of Rock Cellar’s new music picks for Aug. 14, along with links to purchase (where applicable).

Without further ado … our new music picks for this week.

Robby Krieger — The Ritual Begins at Sundown (Click here to pre-order from our Rock Cellar Store)

Krieger, the legendary guitarist of the Doors, has had this new album in the works for a while. Its release delayed a bit due to the COVID-19 pandemic, The Ritual Begins at Sundown will soon be here … and, as previewed with a handful of pre-release tracks, it’s an absolute trip:

The Ritual Begins at Sundown features 10 tracks, all of them instrumental, recorded at Krieger’s own Horse Latitudes Studio in Los Angeles — Krieger and the Zappa alumni even tackle the Zappa track “Chunga’s Revenge,” in addition to the other nine original compositions on the album.

Creedence Clearwater Revival — Cosmo’s Factory 50th Anniversary 1/2-Speed Master (Click here to pre-order from our Rock Cellar Store)

To mark the occasion of the 50th anniversary of CCR‘s classic 1970 album Cosmo’s Factory, Craft Recordings is releasing a special vinyl pressing of the record:

The album was mastered at half-speed at Abbey Road Studios, benefiting from an exacting process that allows for an exceptional level of sonic clarity and punch. This 180-gram vinyl comes housed in a tip-on jacket replicating the original pressing packaging.

Whitney — Candid (Click here to pre-order from our Rock Cellar Store)

Whitney is an acclaimed indie/folk band from Chicago with a history and influence steeped in the “classics” — and on Aug. 14 the band will release Candid, an album of covers celebrating that influence. The album, out via Secretly Canadian Records, finds Whitney covering David Byrne, John Denver (“Take Me Home, Country Roads,” a collaboration with Waxahatchee), The Roaches and more.

Stream the album below, via Spotify:

Bruce Hornsby — Non-Secure Connection (Click here to pre-order from our Rock Cellar Store)

Hornsby, the versatile pianist/singer/songwriter/associate of the Grateful Dead, will return this week with Non-Secure Connection, a new album featuring collaborations with Justin Vernon of Bon Iver, James Mercer of the Shins, the late Leon Russell, Rob Moose and Hideaki Aomori of yMusic, The Orchestra of St. Hanks (Frost School/Univ. of Miami), Hornsby’s longtime band The Noisemakers and more. The record is out via Zappo Productions.

It was previewed with “My Resolve,” Hornsby’s collaboration with Mercer:

And here’s “Anything Can Happen,” adding the late, great Leon Russell to the proceedings:

Stream the album below, via Spotify:

Fantastic Negrito — Have You Lost Your Mind Yet? (Click here to pre-order from our Rock Cellar Store)

Two-time GRAMMY-winner and relentless artistic envelope-pusher Fantastic Negrito returns this week with Have You Lost Your Mind Yet?, a new album via Cooking Vinyl. Per the album description, this record — his fifth — focuses on mental health, while providing commentary on the political and social state of America. Lead track “I’m So Happy I Cry” features fellow Tiny Desk winner, Tank, from Tank and The Bangas. 

The Oakland-based musician (born Xavier Amin Dphrepaulezz) is also joined on the album by fellow Bay Area icon E-40 on the track “Searching for Captain Save a Hoe.”

Stream the record below, via Spotify:

Biffy Clyro — A Celebration of Endings (Click here to pre-order from our Rock Cellar Store)

Scottish rock band Biffy Clyro is something of an iconic act across many countries — despite not quite reaching that status in the United States. A Celebration of Endings, the band’s ninth album, is out this week via 14th Floor and Warner.

Stream the album below, via Spotify:

Related Posts