New Music Out This Week 9/4: Fleetwood Mac Reissues, Rolling Stones ‘Goats Head Soup’ Reissue, Marc Bolan/T.Rex Tribute

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

This upcoming Friday, Sept. 4 brings with it a handful of notable reissues, as well as a curated musical tribute to a late rock and roll icon. Below is our curated list of Rock Cellar’s new music picks for Sept. 4, along with links to purchase (where applicable).

Rolling StonesGoats Head Soup Reissue (Click here to pre-order the Goats Head Soup reissue from our Rock Cellar Store — available in a variety of formats).

The anticipated new reissue of the Stones’ 1973 album has been previewed in recent weeks with previously unheard material, of which this deluxe revisiting features a ton. Among the otherwise unheard songs is “Scarlet,” featuring Jimmy Page and Blind Faith’s Ric Grech. The song received a new music video starring actor Paul Mescal:

And “Criss Cross”:

Here’s an unboxing video for the Deluxe Edition, which you can pre-order now by clicking here.

Fleetwood Mac1969 to 1974 8-CD/4-LP box set (Click here to pre-order on 8-CD and click here to pre-order on 4-LP).

1969 to 1974 is a new box set capturing the music of early-era Fleetwood Mac, and includes remastered versions of all seven studio albums the band recorded between 1969 and 1974, several bonus tracks, and an unreleased 1974 concert recorded just a few months before Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks joined the band. The set covers a five-year timeframe that encompasses several different band lineups, from founding members Fleetwood, Green, McVie and Spencer; to later additions like Danny Kirwan, Christine McVie, Dave Walker, Bob Welch, and Bob Weston. 

It’s also available as a 4-LP box set:

Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering cut the lacquers for all the albums from the original analog masters, which are pressed on 140-gram vinyl and presented in replica sleeves made to look like the original pressings. As a final touch, the set also includes a 7” single with “For Your Love” (Mono Promo Edit) on one side, and the previously unreleased “Good Things (Come To Those Who Wait)” on the flipside.

Angelheaded Hipster: The Songs of Marc Bolan and T. Rex (Click here to pre-order from our Rock Cellar Store)

Angelheaded Hipster: The Songs of Marc Bolan and T. Rex will present 26 songs recorded by Marc Bolan from 1968 to 1977, and the release of this record is timed to coincide with T. Rex’s (overdue) induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in November.

Speaking to the legacy of Marc Bolan and T. Rex, this tribute record features a dizzying array of talent, including U2 teaming up with Elton John for “Bang a Gong,” Joan Jett tackling “Jeepster,” Father John Misty covering “Main Man” and many more.

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds transformed “Cosmic Dancer” to a hushed piano ballad in that signature Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds way, and that can be streamed below as a preview of the record:

The track listing:

Disc One
1. “Children of the Revolution” – Kesha
2. “Cosmic Dancer” – Nick Cave
3. “Jeepster” – Joan Jett
4. “Scenescof” – Devendra Banhart
5. “Life’s a Gas” – Lucinda Williams
6. “Solid Gold, Easy Action” – Peaches
7. “Dawn Storm” – BØRNS
8. “Hippy Gumbo” – Beth Orton
9. “I Love to Boogie” – King Khan
10. “Beltane Walk” – Gaby Moreno
11. “Bang a Gong (Get It On)” – U2 feat. Elton John
12. “Diamond Meadows” – John Cameron Mitchell
13. “Ballrooms of Mars” – Emily Haines

Disc Two
1. “Main Man” – Father John Misty
2. “Rock On” – Perry Farrell
3. “The Street and Babe Shadow” – Elysian Fields
4. “The Leopards” – Gavin Friday
5. “Metal Guru” – Nena
6. “Teenage Dream” – Marc Almond
7. “Organ Blues” – Helga Davis
8. “Planet Queen” – Todd Rundgren
9. “Great Horse” – Jessie Harris
10. “Mambo Sun” – Sean Lennon and Charlotte Kemp Muhl
11. “Pilgrim’s Tale” – Victoria Williams with Julian Lennon
12. “Bang a Gong (Get It On) Reprise” – David Johansen
13. “She Was Born to Be My Unicorn / Ride A White Swan” – Maria McKee

Related Posts