Preview the Anticipated Release of Neil Young’s ‘Homegrown’ Album on 6/19 with ‘Vacancy’

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

This Friday, June 19, Neil Young will (finally) release Homegrown, the album the singer/songwriter recorded in 1974-75 but has never yet seen an official release.

The album sessions are the stuff of legend, with the iconic singer/songwriter being joined in the studio by Levon Helm, Karl T Himmel, Robbie Robertson, Emmylou Harris, Tim Drummond, Ben Keith and Stan Szelest.

A few days ago, Neil Young previewed the Homegrown release with the song “Vacancy”:

Young had previously premiered “Try” as a glimpse of the Homegrown release:

Said Neil Young in a statement apologizing for the lengthy delay in Homegrown seeing the light of day:

“I apologize. This album Homegrown should have been there for you a couple of years after Harvest. It’s the sad side of a love affair. The damage done. The heartache. I just couldn’t listen to it. I wanted to move on. So I kept it to myself, hidden away in the vault, on the shelf, in the back of my mind….but I should have shared it. It’s actually beautiful. That’s why I made it in the first place. Sometimes life hurts. You know what I mean. This is the one that got away. Recorded in analog in 1974 and early 1975 from the original master tapes and restored with love and care by John Hanlon.  Levon Helm is drumming on some tracks, Karl T Himmel on others, Emmylou Harris singing on one, Homegrown contains a narration, several acoustic solo songs never even published or heard until this release and some great songs played with a great band of my friends, including Ben Keith – steel and slide – Tim Drummond – bass and Stan Szelest – piano. Anyway, it’s coming your way in 2020, the first release from our archive in the new decade. Come with us into 2020 as we bring the past.”

Here’s the official track listing for Homegrown by Neil Young:

1 Separate Ways
2 Try
3 Mexico
4 Love Is a Rose
5 Homegrown
6 Florida
7 Kansas
8 We Don’t Smoke It No More
9 White Line
10 Vacancy
11 Little Wing
12 Star of Bethlehem

Related Posts