Out Now: Neil Young & Crazy Horse Revisit Lost Early 2000s-Era Album ‘Toast’ with Full Release

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Originally recorded in 2000 and ’01, Toast would eventually be shelved by Neil Young + Crazy Horse. Different versions of four songs surfaced on later releases, but the entirety of the album remained unreleased … until today, July 8.

While the record is not available to stream on digital services like Spotify, presumably a result of Young’s ongoing feud with the platform over its promotion of Joe Rogan’s podcast, it was made available in reliable analog format:

Click here to pick up Toast on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up Toast on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

As an example of the experimentation at work throughout Toast, here’s the rocking “Standing in the Light of Love” from the record:

And as a contrast, the album-closing 13-minute jam “Boom Boom Boom”:

More about the fabled record, which was recorded at (and named after) Toast Studios in San Francisco:

Last year, in his virtual daily newspaper, The Times Contrarian, Young wrote about the album in-depth. “The music of Toast is about a relationship,” he said. “There is a time in many relationships that go bad, a time long before the breakup, where it dawns on one of the people, maybe both, that it’s over. This was that time.”

Aptly, Toast is heavy and distressed, brimming with electrifying tension. Even its sweet-sounding opening track, “Quit,” features the refrain, “Don’t Say You Love Me,” “Standing In The Light of Love” and “Goin’ Home” let the Horse off the tether in fields of overdriven guitar; an out-of-work logger grapples with his faith on the breakneck “Timberline;” and on “Gateway of Love,” Young dreams of a less painful future over a hypnotizing 10 minutes, leading into the somber, brokedown “How Ya Doin’?” The songwriter sums up the album best during its shadowy finale “Boom Boom Boom”: “All I got is a broken heart, and I don’t try to hide it when I play my guitar.”

The track listing:

1. Quit
2. Standing In The Light of Love
3. Goin’ Home
4. Timberline
5. Gateway of Love
6. How Ya Doin’?
7. Boom Boom Boom

Related Posts