Neil Young + Crazy Horse to Release Lost Early 2000s Album ‘Toast’ 7/8; Stream “Standing in the Light of Love”

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Originally recorded in 2000 and ’01, Toast eventually shelved by Neil Young + Crazy Horse. Different versions of four songs surfaced on later releases, but three tracks remained lost to the sands of time — until now.

On July 8, Young and his colleagues will finally give Toast its awaited release, news that came with a preview in the form of the rocking “Standing in the Light of Love”:

Click here to pre-order Toast on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Toast on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The revisiting of Toast will be the first release from Neil Young + Crazy Horse since last December’s Barn record.

More about the fabled record, which was recorded at (and named after) Toast Studios in San Francisco:

Last year, in his virtual daily newspaper, The Times Contrarian, Young wrote about the album in-depth. “The music of Toast is about a relationship,” he said. “There is a time in many relationships that go bad, a time long before the breakup, where it dawns on one of the people, maybe both, that it’s over. This was that time.”

Aptly, Toast is heavy and distressed, brimming with electrifying tension. Even its sweet-sounding opening track, “Quit,” features the refrain, “Don’t Say You Love Me,” “Standing In The Light of Love” and “Goin’ Home” let the Horse off the tether in fields of overdriven guitar; an out-of-work logger grapples with his faith on the breakneck “Timberline;” and on “Gateway of Love,” Young dreams of a less painful future over a hypnotizing 10 minutes, leading into the somber, brokedown “How Ya Doin’?” The songwriter sums up the album best during its shadowy finale “Boom Boom Boom”: “All I got is a broken heart, and I don’t try to hide it when I play my guitar.”

The track listing for Toast:

1. Quit
2. Standing In The Light of Love
3. Goin’ Home
4. Timberline
5. Gateway of Love
6. How Ya Doin’?
7. Boom Boom Boom

Related Posts