Neil Young & Crazy Horse Are Releasing a New Album, ‘Barn,’ in December — Stream “Song of the Seasons”

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Dec. 10, Neil Young & Crazy Horse will release Barn, a new studio album and the ensemble’s follow-up to 2019’s Colorado.

Announced on Wednesday, Young first dropped news of the record back in June with an update on his Neil Young Archives website:

“We are so happy to be back in the barn,” he said in the post. “A barn built to replicate the 1850s barn that had collapsed in exactly the same place, high in the mountains of Colorado.”

Additionally, subscribers of his Archives site were given a first listen to “Song Of The Seasons,” a track from the new album, exclusively on his site. Stream it below:

Click here to pre-order Barn on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Barn on Deluxe Vinyl from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Barn on Vinyl from our Rock Cellar Store

“Written in Canada about a year ago, it’s the oldest song on Barn,” said Young of the song on his site. “There was a recording of the song done in my hometown that is the earliest. This is the first one with Crazy Horse! It starts the album.”

And the album’s track listing:

1 “Song Of The Seasons”
2 “Heading West”
3 “Change Ain’t Never Gonna”
4 “Canerican”
5 “Shape Of You”
6 “They Might Be Lost”
7 “Human Race”
8 “Tumblin’ Thru The Years”
9 “Welcome Back”
10 “Don’t Forget Love”

Neil Young: guitar, piano, harmonica, vocals.
Billy Talbot: bass, vocals.
Ralph Molina: drums, vocals.
Nils Lofgren: guitar, piano, accordion, vocals.

News of this return to Crazy Horse comes as the Neil Young musical vaults are once again being raided for a series of new releases. Oct. 1 saw the release of Carnegie Hall 1970, the first in a planned collection of releases called The Neil Young Official Bootleg Series.

Click here to pick up Carnegie Hall 1970 on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up Carnegie Hall 1970 on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

More on Carnegie Hall 1970:

Carnegie Hall was recorded on original analog multitrack and was mixed by “The Volume Dealers” — Neil Young and Niko Bolas. This recording was made from the show on December 4th, 1970 and it was the first time Neil ever walked onstage at Carnegie Hall. There were two shows at Carnegie Hall, one on the 4th and one followed at midnight the next morning. No bootleggers ever captured this first show, and it was, by far, a much superior show according to NY.

The concert’s generous setlist covers one of the most revered eras of Young’s career, with stripped-down versions of the tunes “Down By the River,” “Helpless,” and “Sugar Mountain,” plus “After The Gold Rush” from the album of the same name, released only nine weeks prior to the Carnegie Hall show. Neil even played the poignant songs “Bad Fog of Loneliness,” “Old Man,” and “See the Sky About to Rain” before they were recorded and released. Carnegie Hall is an album full of gems.

Related Posts