Nancy Wilson Shares New Song ‘You and Me,’ a Touching Tribute to Her Mother (Listen/Pre-Order New LP Out 5/7)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On May 7, Nancy Wilson of Heart will release her first-ever solo album, and the title track to You and Me was debuted this week.

A musical salute to her mother co-written by longtime friend and Heart collaborator Sue Ennis, the song can be heard below:

Said Wilson to iHeartRadio of the song’s singular importance to her new record:

“This song is a song for women,” she tells iHeartRadio. “It’s like a conversation in zero gravity with my mom, like when you’ve had a dream of your mom and she’s no longer of the Earth but you’ve felt like you got to hang out with her? That’s what this song is about.”

Wilson elaborated more on the song with Rolling Stone:

“’You and Me’ is a zero gravity conversation with my mom that exists outside of time and space. In the video, I used paneled mirrors to find the camera lens for a more otherworldly feel as if I’m talking to both me and my mom through the connection of our common DNA. Working with Sue Ennis on this song and on this album for me has been a great reconnection to the joy of creating new music.”

This is the second song released thus far from You and Me, joining Wilson’s cover of Bruce Springsteen’s “The Rising,” which was shared in recent months:

Click here to pre-order Nancy Wilson’s new album, You and Me, from our Rock Cellar Store. 

As detailed previously, You and Me will be released via Wilson’s Carry On Music label. Said Nancy in a statement:

“Being off the road last year from touring with Heart, and at home with my good guitars and amps out, I felt like I was once again able to reconnect with my pre-Heart self, my college-girl self, creating poetic, intimate and romantic songs, which pretty much is what I first brought in to Heart.”

In addition to original songs, the album also features some specially selected covers, from the Springsteen tribute to Pearl Jam‘s “Daughter,” Simon & Garfunkel’s “The Boxer” (featuring Sammy Hagar) and the Cranberries’ “Dreams,” featuring Liv Warfield (of Prince’s band, as well as Nancy Wilson’s Roadcase Royale project).

“Party at the Angel Ballroom,” meanwhile, features Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins and Guns N’ Roses bassist Duff McKagan, while the album-capping “4 Edward” is a somber memorial to the late Eddie Van Halen.

The album’s title track finds Nancy reconnecting with Sue Ennis, who contributed co-writing credits to many of Heart’s classic tunes alongside Nancy and Ann Wilson“I’ve known Sue since I was 12,” Nancy said in a news release. “Back then she was a high school friend of Ann’s. We’ve always worked well together.” That track, as well as album pre-orders, is set to launch on March 8.

As for what took so long for her to put together an actual solo album?

“I don’t know why it took me so long to do this,” said Nancy. “Maybe I was stuck in traffic, maybe I was stuck in the Heart vortex of it all.” But in a year with “no traffic,” Wilson finally found a place for the music she’s been writing in her head for decades.

The album track listing:

1. You and Me
2. The Rising
3. I’ll Find You
4. Daughter
5. Party at the Angel Ballroom (with Duff McKagan & Taylor Hawkins)
6. The Boxer (with Sammy Hagar)
7. Walk Away
8. The Inbetween
9. Dreams (with Liv Warfield)
10. The Dragon
11. We Meet Again
12. 4 Edward

Related Posts