Mötley Crüe’s Stadium Tour Launches with Tommy Lee Limited on Drums Due to Broken Ribs (“I’m Gonna F****** Pop in And Out As Much As I Can”)


Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

The Stadium Tour featuring Mötley Crüe, Def Leppard, Joan Jett & the Blackhearts and Poison finally launched this past Thursday, June 16 in Atlanta, after significant delays caused by the pandemic. Just three shows in, though, drummer Tommy Lee has run into an issue keeping him from assuming full-time duties behind the Mötley Crüe drum kit.

As he explained on stage at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami on Saturday, he broke some ribs before the tour launch … which has kept him incapable of fully participating on drums, with Tommy Clufetos subbing in after a few songs.

Using typically colorful language, Lee addressed the fans at the show to explain why he was forced off the stage:

“My fucking heart is broken, along with the ribs. So the doctor goes, ‘Listen, bro. By the way, no fucking playing.’ I’m like, ‘Dude, there’s no fucking way. We have a tour in a fucking few days. What the fuck am I gonna do?’ So I’m gonna fucking pop in and out as much as I can.”

Let this be a heads-up to fans at shows on the rest of the Stadium Tour: If you notice Tommy Lee behind the drums, great! If you don’t, and Clufetos is back there, just know Lee is following doctor’s orders, but know that he wants to be out there as much as possible.

The rest of the Stadium Tour dates:

Wednesday, June 22 Washington, DC Nationals Park
Friday, June 24 Queens, NY Citi Field
Saturday, June 25 Philadelphia, PA Citizens Bank Park
Tuesday, June 28 Charlotte, NC Bank of America Stadium
Thursday, June 30 Nashville, TN Nissan Stadium
Saturday, July 2 Jacksonville, FL TIAA Bank Field
Tuesday, July 5 St. Louis, MO Busch Stadium
Friday, July 8 Chicago, IL Wrigley Field
Sunday, July 10 Detroit, MI Comerica Park
Tuesday July 12 Hershey, PA Hersheypark Stadium
Thursday, July 14 Cleveland, OH FirstEnergy Stadium
Friday, July 15 Cincinnati, OH Great American Ball Park
Sunday, July 17 Milwaukee, WI American Family Field
Tuesday, July 19 Kansas City, MO Kauffman Stadium
Thursday, July 21 Denver, CO Coors Field
Friday, August 5 Boston, MA Fenway Park|
Saturday, August 6 Boston, MA Fenway Park
Monday, August 8 Toronto, ON Rogers Centre
Wednesday, August 10 Orchard Park, NY Highmark Stadium
Friday, August 12 Pittsburgh, PA PNC Park
Sunday, August 14 Minneapolis, MN U.S. Bank Stadium
Tuesday, August 16 Indianapolis, IN Lucas Oil Stadium
Friday, August 19 Houston, TX Minute Maid Park
Sunday, August 21 San Antonio, TX Alamodome
Monday, August 22 Arlington, TX Globe Life Field
Thursday, August 25 Glendale, AZ State Farm Stadium
Saturday, August 27 Inglewood, CA SoFi Stadium
Sunday, August 28 San Diego, CA Petco Park
Wednesday, August 31 Seattle, WA T-Mobile Park
Friday, September 2 Vancouver, BC BC Place
Sunday, September 4 Edmonton, AB Commonwealth Stadium / Stade du Commonwealth
Wednesday, September 7 San Francisco, CA Oracle Park
Friday, September 9 Las Vegas, NV Allegiant Stadium

Comments

  • Brad Stokke says:

    So we have an out of shape Vince Neil that can’t sing anymore and now no Tommy Lee? For how much per ticket? I think they should have honored that phony contract and stayed retired. This isn’t the same band that ruled the 80’s.

  • Rorer714 says:

    well put.

  • M. Pomaski says:

    Get your bones in order T Bone and practice up Vince. If Mick can stand being around you two, life is good.
    Rock on Nikki——— see y’all at the AZ. show in Glendale.

    M. Pomaski

  • DeadDrumz says:

    Why is Boston only double booked show? Saw clips from Miami.. The rest of the bands sound great. Crue was my band in the 80’s & 90’s .. have seen them more than a dozen times in my lifetime. This has GOT to be the swan song for Vince.. I will be shocked if they make it to the end as headliner, if at all. Sad day for Crue fans.



  • Related Posts