Moby: New ‘Reprise’ Album Revisiting Past Material ft. Kris Kristofferson, Jim James, More Out 5/28; Stream ‘Porcelain’

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On May 28, Moby will celebrate his lasting career in music with Reprise, an album of reinvented songs from throughout the past three-plus decades.

The appropriately titled Reprise finds Moby accompanied by the Budapest Art Orchestra, and features “new arrangements for orchestra and acoustic instruments, joined by a stellar line-up of guest artists from across the musical spectrum, including Alice Skye, Amythyst Kiah, Apollo Jane, Darlingside, Deitrick Haddon, Gregory Porter, Jim James, Kris Kristofferson, Luna Li, Mark Lanegan, Mindy Jones, Nataly Dawn, Skylar Grey and Víkingur Ólafsson.”

As a preview of the collection, Moby shared a re-worked version of his classic hit “Porcelain,” featuring Jim James of My Morning Jacket:

In terms of context of the Reprise project:

“Sorry if this seems self-evident, but for me the main purpose of music is to communicate emotion,” said Moby in a statement, “to share some aspect of the human condition to whomever might be listening.” Why include an orchestra? “I long for the simplicity and vulnerability you can get with acoustic or classical music.”

Click here to pre-order Reprise on Deluxe CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Reprise on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

And the detailed track listing:

1 – Everloving
2 – Natural Blues (featuring Gregory Porter & Amythyst Kiah)
3 – Go
4 – Porcelain (featuring Jim James)
5 – Extreme Ways
6 – Heroes (featuring Mindy Jones)
7 – God Moving Over The Face of the Water (featuring Vikingur Ólafsson)
8 – Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad (featuring Apollo Jane)
9 – The Lonely Night (featuring Kris Kristofferson & Mark Lanegan)
10 – We Are All Made of Stars
11 – Lift Me Up
12 – The Great Escape (featuring Nataly Dawn, Alice Skye, Luna Li)
13 – The Last Day (featuring Skylar Grey & Darlingside)

In addition to the album, Moby is the focus of MOBY DOC, a new documentary film that will also premiere on May 28:

Directed and edited by Rob Bralver, the film will be distributed by Greenwich Entertainment and released in US theaters and on digital platforms on May 28, with a worldwide (ex-North America) premiere stream on the same day. Moby Doc is a surrealist biographical documentary narrated by Moby as he reflects on his turbulent personal life and iconic music from underground punk bands to chart-topping solo artist, and from struggling addict to vegan activist. The film features interviews with David Lynch and David Bowie, along with extraordinary concert footage, utilizing a unique blend of re-enactments, interviews, and archival footage. Audiences will be treated to an insightful, unvarnished look at an artist whose traumatic childhood shaped him in profound ways.  

Related Posts