Out Now: ‘Serpentine Prison,’ the Debut Solo Album from The National’s Matt Berninger (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

In late May, Matt Berninger — front man for esteemed indie/rock band The National — announced his first solo album, Serpentine Prison.

Today, Oct. 16, the album sees the light of day, and it’s sure to appeal to fans of Berninger’s “day job” as the front man of one of the most acclaimed bands of the past two decades-plus. A collaborative effort with the legendary Booker T. Jones, Serpentine Prison presents a bit of a different approach from Berninger than most may be accustomed to hearing from him.

(Click here to pick up Serpentine Prison from our Rock Cellar Store).

Berninger previewed the album in recent weeks with a handful of songs, including the title track:

And “One More Second,” which recently had its own music video premiere and was recorded during the COVID-19 pandemic — a context that explains, at least in part, some of the irreverence that goes on in this clip:

As would make sense given the stature of Matt Berninger among the indie/rock community, a number of special guests participate in Serpentine Prison, among them:

Matt Barrick (The Walkmen, Jonathan Fire*Eater), Andrew Bird, Mike Brewer, Hayden Desser, Scott Devendorf (The National, LNZNDRF), Gail Ann Dorsey (David Bowie, Lenny Kravitz), Booker T. Jones, Teddy Jones, Brent Knopf (EL VY, Menomena), Ben Lanz (The National, Beirut, LNZNDRF), Walter Martin (The Walkmen, Jonathan Fire*Eater), Sean O’Brien, Mickey Raphael (Willie Nelson, Bob Dylan), Kyle Resnick (The National, Beirut), Matt Sheehy (EL VY, Lost Lander) and Harrison Whitford (Phoebe Bridgers).

Listen to the album below, via Spotify:

Related Posts