Out Now: Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real’s Uplifting, Hopeful New Album ‘A Few Stars Apart’ (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Today, June 11, sees the release of A Few Stars Apart — a new album from Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real. Produced by Dave Cobb, it’s the seventh record from the band to date and is an affirming, joyous celebration of life, love and music.

Per a news release, the album was inspired by the stillness Nelson found while riding out the beginning of the pandemic with his family in Texas and was recorded with the full band live on eight-track tape over three weeks at Nashville’s historic RCA Studio A. Across the record’s eleven new songs, Nelson reveals what it means to come home again, to be still, and to find community—and yourself.

Click here to pick up A Few Stars Apart on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up A Few Stars Apart on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

“Perennial Bloom (Back To You),” shared ahead of the album’s release, is a song bursting with warmth, heart and an authenticity that comes across in Nelson’s vocals in a way that echo his father, Willie Nelson, while at the same time capturing Promise of the Real at its very best.

“I’m from what one might say is the ultimate road family—I’ve been on the road my entire life,” said Lukas Nelson. “I’ve never been anywhere longer than three months, and suddenly here we are, the four of us together. And thank god we were together. I can’t remember the last time we had that much time together as a family. We had a lot of really important bonding that happened during that time. And I have to say, as terrible as the pandemic has been in so many ways, for my inner peace, I was able to take a lot of good from this time. I was able to pause and reflect.

“It took me a really long time to come back to the home in my heart. In a physical sense, that’s Texas and Hawaii. But in a spiritual sense as well — I think I finally decided not to run from who I am and who I am destined to be. First and foremost, that’s a songwriter. That’s what this record means to me. There’s a story being told through the whole record. A story about connection and coming home.”

With this record, Nelson and his band mates — Anthony LoGerfo (drums, percussion, tambourine), Corey McCormick (bass guitar, upright bass, Mellotron, vocals), Tato Melgar (percussion) and Logan Metz (piano, Wurlitzer, B3 organ, lap steel, banjo, Mellotron, vocals) — seamlessly convey those themes of uplift and reflection across the album’s 11 tracks, a musical “hug” of sorts intended to embrace all who give it a listen.

Do so below.

Related Posts