Watch Lucy Dacus Turn ‘The Tonight Show’ Stage Into a Church for a Vibrant Performance of “VBS”


Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Tuesday night, Lucy Dacus and her band stopped by The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon to perform “VBS,” one of the standout confessional songs on Dacus’ new album, Home Video, which was released in late June.

Much of the album’s themes — and title — take as inspiration many of Dacus’ personal experiences and memories, with “VBS” (as in Vacation Bible School) one of the most resonant. Transforming the Tonight Show stage to a sort-of church setting, Dacus and her band give it a powerful performance:

Click here to pick up Home Video on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up Home Video on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

As she said about the song in a statement:

“VBS means vacation bible school, and I went to tons of them. It’s where Christian parents send their kids over the winter, spring, or summer breaks from school to get closer to God, maybe learn some outdoor skills, and bring home useless crafts and totems like fruit of the spirit sand art and purity rings. I wrote the song in the van on the way to Nashville to record Home Video after seeing one of those readerboards outside a church advertising a wholesome church camp for kids. I thought about my first boyfriend, who I met at VBS, the resident bad boy who loved Slayer and weed more than Jesus. I took it upon myself to save him, and make him stop doing drugs (with an exception for snorting nutmeg). God, I was so lame.”

This performance marked the first in-studio late-night television performance to date from Dacus and her band, Jacob Blizard (lead guitar), Dominic Angelella (bass guitar), Ricardo Lagomasino (drums), and Sarah Goldstone (keys, background vocal).

Home Video is a masterful creative expression from Dacus, whos profile rose in recent years with her own material, as well as her contributions to boygenius alongside Julien Baker and Phoebe Bridgers.

Having recently wrapped a tour in support of Home Video, Lucy dacus will continue it in early 2022 with shows overseas:

Fri. March 18, 2022 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social CLub
Sun. March 20, 2022 – Glasgow, UK @ St. Lukes
Mon. March 21, 2022 – Dublin, IE @ The Button Factory **
Wed. March 23, 2022 – Manchester, UK @ Gorilla
Thu. March 24, 2022 – Bristol, UK @ SWX
Fri. March 25, 2022 – London, UK @ Kentish Town Forum
Tue. March 29, 2022 – Brussels, BL @ Rotonde **
Wed. March 30, 2022 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Noord **
Thu. March 31, 2022 – Cologne, DE @ Artheater **
Sat. April 2, 2022 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow **
Sun. April 3, 2022 – Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen **
Mon. April 4, 2022 – Aarhus, DK @ VoxHall **
Wed. April 6, 2022 – Oslo, NO @ Parkteatret **
Thu. April 7, 2022 – Stockholm, SE @ Nalen Klubb **
Sat. April 9, 2022 – Berlin, DE @ Lido **
Sun. April 10, 2022 – Jena, DE @ Trafo **
Tue. April 12, 2022 – Vienna, AT @ Chelsea **
Wed. April 13, 2022 – Munich, DE @ Milla **
Thu. April 14, 2022 – Zürich, SU @ Bogen F **
Fri. April 15 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie **

**= Fenne Lily supporting



Related Posts