Lucy Dacus Shares Animated Video for “VBS,” New Album ‘Home Video’ Coming 6/25


Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Singer/songwriter Lucy Dacus will release a new studio album, Home Video, on June 25 via Matador Records. On Wednesday, she premiered a new song, “VBS,” in the form of an animated music video from art director/animator Marin Leong (“VBS” referring to Vacation Bible School):

Another self-reflective song from Lucy Dacus, she detailed the track in a statement:

“VBS means vacation bible school, and I went to tons of them. It’s where Christian parents send their kids over the winter, spring, or summer breaks from school to get closer to God, maybe learn some outdoor skills, and bring home useless crafts and totems like fruit of the spirit sand art and purity rings. I wrote the song in the van on the way to Nashville to record Home Video after seeing one of those readerboards outside a church advertising a wholesome church camp for kids. I thought about my first boyfriend, who I met at VBS, the resident bad boy who loved Slayer and weed more than Jesus. I took it upon myself to save him, and make him stop doing drugs (with an exception for snorting nutmeg). God, I was so lame.”

Leong, who serves as the visual director for the Home Video album:

A lot of the album examines navigation of self and how it evolves, and Lucy and I have often talked about bodies, the part they play in our ideation of self, and both connection and disconnection to them. We arrived at this world where her physical self is being distorted by the landscape that she’s present in, both in a beautiful and slightly uncanny way. One of the reasons I find animation and music compelling is the freedom in world building, the ability to translate story and tone, and synthesize it into a visual landscape using imagery that isn’t necessarily rooted in reality. And although I was treating this video like a diptych or braided essay with the song, rather than an overt visual depiction, I was able to make some subtle but direct references to the lyrics as well, so I’m excited for people to find those.”

Click here to pre-order Home Video on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Home Video on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The Home Video album was heavily inspired by Dacus’ life experiences and, per a news release, was built on Dacus’ interrogation of her coming-of-age years in Richmond, Virginia. That self-reflection was made literal in her recent music video for “Hot & Heavy”:

Fan favorite “Thumbs” — another crushingly personal song from Lucy Dacus — is also featured on the album:

Over the past few years, Lucy Dacus has seen her profile rise with her solo albums and a creative partnership with musical pals Phoebe Bridgers and Julien Baker, the three of them releasing music as the indie/rock supergroup boygenius. Her new solo album comes with heightened anticipation as a result.

The album track listing:

1. Hot & Heavy
2. Christine
3. First Time
4. VBS
5. Cartwheel
6. Thumbs
7. Going Going Gone
8. Partner In Crime
9. Brando
10. Please Stay
11. Triple Dog Dare

Catch Dacus on the road this fall:

Wed. June 23 – Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheater @
Thu. July 29th – Bethlehem, PA @ Levitt Pavilion SteelStacks !
Fri. July 30 – Worcester, MA @ Palladium !
Sat. July 31 – Queens, NY @ Forest Hills Stadium !
Fri. Sept. 10 – Richmond, VA @ The National &^^
Sat. Sept. 11 – Richmond, VA @ The National  &% – SOLD OUT
Mon. Sept. 13 – Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom %
Tue. Sept. 14 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West %
Wed. Sept. 15 – Nashville, TN @ Brooklyn Bowl %
Fri. Sept. 17  – Dallas, TX @ Trees %
Sat. Sept. 18 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall- Downstairs %
Sun. Sept. 19 – Austin, TX @ Scoot Inn %
Mon. Sept. 20 – San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger %
Wed. Sept. 22 – Tucson, AZ @ 191 Toole %
Fri. Sept. 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Theatre at Ace Hotel %
Sat. Sept. 25 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory OC
Mon. Sept. 27 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore %
Thu. Sept. 30 – Vancouver, BC @ Hollywood Theatre $
Fri. Oct. 1 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom $
Sat. Oct. 2 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre $
Tue. Oct. 5 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge $
Wed. Oct. 6 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater $
Fri. Oct. 8 – Iowa City, IA @ The Englert Theatre $
Sat. Oct. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue $
Mon. Oct. 11  – Chicago, IL @ The Vic Theatre
Tue. Oct. 12 – Columbus , OH @ Newport Music Hall $
Thu. Oct. 14 – Toronto, ON @ The Opera House $
Fri. Oct. 15 – Montreal, QC @ L’Astral $
Sat. Oct. 16 – Boston, MA @ House of Blues $
Mon. Oct. 18 – Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground $
Wed. Oct. 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer ^
Fri. Oct. 22 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club $ – SOLD OUT
Sat. Oct. 23 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club #
Mon. Oct. 25 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel – SOLD OUT
Tue. Oct. 26 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel

%= Bachelor supporting
$ = Bartees Strange supporting
^ = Shamir supporting
#= Laura Stevenson supporting
^^=Thao and The Get Down Stay Down supporting
&= with Julien Baker
@=supporting Shakey Graves
!=supporting Bright Eyes



Related Posts