Coming 8/6: ‘Legends Play the Beatles’ Compilation Album ft. Judy Collins, Ann Wilson, Richard Page, Steve Morse, Jack Bruce and More (Pre-Order)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Aug. 6, Cleopatra Records will release Legends Play the Beatles, a new compilation album bringing together reverent covers of Beatles classics from truly iconic singer/songwriters and musicians from over the years.

The cast of participating musicians includes some who have passed away, including Cream’s Jack Bruce and John Wetton of King Crimson and Asia.

The track listing:

1. Here Comes The Sun – Richard Page & Steve Morse
2. Across The Universe – Ann Wilson
3. Penny Lane – John Wetton
4. Back In The USSR – Molly Hatchet
5. Norwegian Wood – Andrew Gold
6. The Long And Winding Road – Air Supply
7. Tomorrow Never Knows – Electric Moon
8. Rain – Sugar Candy Mountain
9. Eleanor Rigby – Jack Bruce
10. And I Love Her – Howard Jones
11. Yesterday – Judy Collins
12. Let It Be – Glenn Hughes

Click here to pre-order Legends Play the Beatles on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Legends Play the Beatles on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The release of this compilation album comes during a time of heightened interest in the Beatles — not that interest in the group ever wanes — ahead of Peter Jackson’s highly anticipated The Beatles: Get Back documentary, which will premiere on Disney+ as a three-part series, debuting on Nov. 25, 26, and 27, each episode with an approximate run time of two hours.

The official announcement notes that such a decision was made in hopes of best presenting the “wealth of tremendous footage Peter Jackson has reviewed” for the project, which has been in the works for upwards of three years now. The decision makes sense, considering a six-hour standalone documentary would be a lot to expect anybody to watch, and, of course, cutting material would be a shame for a project of this scope regarding the Fab Four.

Related Posts