Watch Larkin Poe Play Three Songs from 2020’s ‘Self Made Man’ for ‘CBS This Morning Saturday Sessions’

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Back in November, Larkin Poe — the acclaimed roots/folk duo comprised of sisters Rebecca and Megan Lovell — release Kindred Spirits, an album of cover songs specially selected by the pair. It was their second release of the year, following the record Self Made Man, which came out in June.

This past weekend, the band performed a few key tracks from the record for CBS This Morning’s Saturday Sessions. Taking the stage from an intimate venue in Nashville, they delivered stirring renditions of “Back Down South,” “Holy Ghost Fire,” and “She’s a Self-Made Man,” and you can watch each performance below:

Click here to pick up Self Made Man on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up Self Made Man on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Stream Self Made Man below:

As for the Kindred Spirits album, it’s more than your typical “covers album,” though. Throughout, Larkin Poe reimagine the songs, some of them all-time classics, others more current, injecting their own musical sensibilities to the proceedings. Take their rendition of “Take What You Want,” the smash-hit 2019 single from rapper Post Malone and Ozzy Osbourne:

Here’s the album’s full track listing:

01. Hellhound On My Trail (Robert Johnson)
02. Fly Away (Lenny Kravitz)
03. Rockin’ In The Free World (Neil Young)
04. (You’re The) Devil In Disguise (Elvis Presley)
05. In The Air Tonight (Phil Collins)
06. Nights In White Satin (The Moody Blues)
07. Who Do You Love (Bo Diddley)
08. Take What You Want (Post Malone)
09. Ramblin’ Man (The Allman Brothers)
10. Bell Bottom Blues (Derek & The Dominoes)
11. Crocodile Rock (Elton John)

Related Posts