Out Now: Kansas Returns with Long-Awaited Album ‘The Absence of Presence’ (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

After seeing its release date pushed back due to some manufacturing issues, The Absence of Presence — the awaited new studio album from prog-rock masters Kansas — is here.

Pick up a copy of The Absence of Presence by clicking here. 

Released on Friday, the album was previewed in recent weeks with a handful of pre-release tracks, each of them bursting with the band’s trademark epic compositions and unmistakable style.


We are really excited for our fans to be able to finally be able to hear ‘The Absence of Presence in full,'” said Kansas lead vocalist Ronnie Platt. “I think people will really be surprised by the album. ‘The Absence of Presence’ shows the band firing on all cylinders.”

The Absence of Presence follows the band’s 2016 album The Prelude Implicit, and features nine new songs co-written by the band. It’s the 16th full-length album from Kansas to date.

Other songs previewed from the album thus far include “Jets Overhead”:


Said guitarist Zak Rizvi, who wrote the song’s music: “’Jets Overhead’ has become one of my favorite songs on the album. Tom Brislin wrote some fantastic lyrics, David Ragsdale’s violin solo is absolutely smoking and Ronnie Platt nailed the vocals.”

Stream The Absence of Presence below, via Spotify:

Related Posts