Kansas Pushes Back Scheduled Release of New Album ‘The Absence of Presence’ from 6/26 to 7/17 Due to Manufacturing Issues

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Prog-rock band Kansas has been preparing to release its new album, The Absence of Presence, on June 26, premiering a handful of songs in preparation for the big day — but that day will now be delayed.

Kansas announced on social media that the release date has been pushed back to July 17, apologizing to fans in a message:

Due to unforeseen manufacturing issues beyond the band and label’s control, the new Kansas album, ‘The Absence of Presence’, has moved the release date to July 17th 2020. We are incredibly sorry about the inconvenience this may cause.


Songs previewed from the album thus far include “Jets Overhead”:

Said guitarist Zak Rizvi, who wrote the song’s music: “’Jets Overhead’ has become one of my favorite songs on the album. Tom Brislin wrote some fantastic lyrics, David Ragsdale’s violin solo is absolutely smoking and Ronnie Platt nailed the vocals.”

The nostalgic “Memories Down the Line”:

And the rather epic “Throwing Mountains”:

Per a news release regarding “Throwing Mountains”:

“‘Throwing Mountains’ might be one of the heaviest songs KANSAS has ever recorded,” comments KANSAS guitarist Zak Rizvi, “At over six minutes long, I like to consider it a bit of a KANSAS mini-epic.” Rizvi wrote the music for the song with lyrics by KANSAS keyboardist Tom Brislin and drummer Phil Ehart.

Here’s the track listing for the record:

1.) The Absence of Presence
2.) Throwing Mountains
3.) Jets Overhead
4.) Propulsion 1
5.) Memories Down the Line
6.) Circus of Illusion
7.) Animals on the Roof
8.) Never
9.) The Song the River Sang

Related Posts