Julien Baker Reconvenes with boygenius Pals Phoebe Bridgers and Lucy Dacus on New Song ‘Favor’ (Listen)

Adrian GarroCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Feb. 26, singer/songwriter Julien Baker will release her third full-length album, Little Oblivions, via Matador. The album was announced a few weeks ago, with Baker sharing a new song on Wednesday as a preview. It’s the follow-up to Baker’s 2017 album Turn Out the Lights.

“Favor,” debuted with a lyric video, finds Baker working once again with her musical colleagues and friends Phoebe Bridgers and Lucy Dacus, who provide backing vocals on the song. It’s those three singer/songwriters that make up boygenius, the acclaimed indie/rock supergroup of the past few years.

Click here to pre-order Little Oblivions from our Rock Cellar Store. 

Listen to “Favor” below:

Said Bridgers of the collaboration:

“Julien is one of those people whose opinion you want to hear about everything. A true critical thinker with an ever-changing and ridiculously articulate worldview. Her music changes in the same way, and this record is my favorite thing she’s ever done. I’m sure I’ll think the same about the next one.”

And Dacus, who notes that the studio sessions that led to “Favor” also created “Graceland Too,” one of the strongest songs on Bridgers’s excellent 2020 album, Punisher.

“We sang on Favor in Nashville the same day we recorded vocals for Graceland Too and a song of mine. That day had the same atmosphere as when we recorded the boygenius EP. Making music was just a natural result of being together, easy as can be but also rare in a way that feels irreplicable. I love the song for its stark but sensitive picture of friendship, what it looks like to recover from broken trust. Makes me think about how truth only ever breaks what should be broken, and how love is never one of those things. I’m always honored to be brought into Julien’s life and music.”

“Favor” is the third song shared from Julien Baker’s new album thus far. Here’s a video for “Hardline”:

And “Faith Healer”:

The track listing for Little Oblivions:

1. Hardline
2. Heatwave
3. Faith Healer
4. Relative Fiction
5. Crying Wolf
6. Bloodshot
7. Ringside
8. Favor
9. Song in E
10. Repeat
11. Highlight Reel
12. Ziptie

Related Posts