Journey ‘Freedom Tour’ 2022 to Feature Toto on All Dates; Billy Idol Drops Off Tour Due to Illness


Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

In November, Journey announced plans for a substantial summer outing with special guests Toto and Billy Idol trading off “Very Special Guest” duties. On Wednesday, an update announced that the Freedom tour will indeed take place, but with Toto now performing on all dates and Idol sitting out due to a chronic sinus infection that will find the English rocker undergoing surgery soon.

“I am absolutely gutted that I won’t be able to perform the upcoming dates with Journey as planned,” said Idol in a statement.

“It’s that time – time to get back to where we are used to being - on stage!” said Journey’s Neal Schon. “We are  looking forward to shifting into high gear and bringing you the best show possible. The band is running on all 12 cylinders and very excited!  Please come and join us once again for an evening full of rocking stage connection fun. See you soon friends.”

Toto’s Steve Lukather and Joseph Williams added, “We are looking forward to staging 40 shows with Journey across the U.S. Most of the guys are lifelong friends, and it’ll be a pleasure to spend quality time together. We all wish Billy the best. Can’t wait to get back out on the road in the coming weeks.”

The news also came with the addition of two new dates to the Journey/Toto tour.

The schedule:

Tuesday, February 22  Pittsburgh, PA  PPG Paints Arena
Wednesday, February 23 Philadelphia, PA Wells Fargo Center
Friday, February 25 Belmont Park, NY UBS Arena
Sunday, February 27 Newark, NJ Prudential Center
Monday, February 28 Boston, MA TD Garden
Wednesday, March 2 Detroit, MI Little Caesars Arena
Friday, March 4 Hershey, PA Giant Center
Sunday, March 6 Manchester, NH SNHU Arena
Tuesday, March 8 Albany, NY MVP Arena
Saturday, March 12 Milwaukee, WI Fiserv Forum
Monday, March 14 St. Paul, MN Xcel Energy Center
Wednesday, March 16 Kansas City, MO T-Mobile Center
Thursday, March 17 Oklahoma City, OK Paycom Center
Saturday, March 19 N. Little Rock, AR Simmons Bank Arena
Monday, March 21 St. Louis, MO Enterprise Center
Thursday, March 24 Salt Lake City, UT Vivint Arena
Sunday, March 27 Portland, OR Moda Center
Monday, March 28 Seattle, WA Climate Pledge Arena
Thursday, March 31 San Francisco, CA Chase Center
Friday, April 1 Sacramento, CA Golden 1 Center
Monday, April 4 Anaheim, CA Honda Center
Tuesday, April 5 Los Angeles, CA Crypto.com Arena
Thursday, April 7 San Diego, CA Pechanga Arena San Diego
Saturday, April 9 Glendale, AZ Gila River Arena
Monday, April 11 Denver, CO Ball Arena
Wednesday, April 13 Dallas, TX American Airlines Center
Friday, April 15 New Orleans, LA Smoothie King Center
Wednesday, April 20 Tampa, FL Amalie Arena
Thursday, April 21 Orlando, FL Amway Center
Sunday, April 24 Cincinnati, OH Heritage Bank Center
Monday, April 25 Atlanta, GA State Farm Arena
Wednesday, April 27 Nashville, TN Bridgestone Arena
Thursday, April 28 Charlotte, NC Spectrum Center
Saturday, April 30 Columbus, OH Schottenstein Center
Monday, May 2 Rosemont, IL Allstate Arena
Wednesday, May 4 Grand Rapids, MI Van Andel Arena
Thursday, May 5 Indianapolis, IN Gainbridge Fieldhouse
Saturday, May 7 Cleveland, OH Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse
Monday, May 9 Washington, DC Capital One Arena
Wednesday, May 11 Hartford, CT XL Center



Related Posts