‘I Remember Everything,’ the Final Song Recorded By John Prine, Becomes His Highest-Charting Single and First No. 1

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On June 12, the estate of John Prine premiered “I Remember You,” the very last song recorded by the country/folk legend before he passed away earlier this year due to complications from the coronavirus.

The tender, intimate song written by Prine and Pat McLaughlin was recorded in Prine’s living room in 2019 with producer Dave Cobb and engineer Gena Johnson:

Since Prine’s posthumous release, “I Remember Everything” earned the singer/songwriter his very first No. 1 single when it premiered at the top spot on Billboard’s Rock Digital Sales chart.

That’s right — decades of music, an untouchable legacy and impact left behind, and John Prine finally has his first No. 1.

More on “I Remember Everything,” per a press release:

“I Remember Everything” is the first new music from Prine since the release of his widely acclaimed 2018 album, The Tree of Forgiveness. Produced by Cobb, the album was Prine’s first release featuring new material in over 13 years and debuted at #5 on the Billboard 200 chart with over 54,000 equivalent albums sold in its first week—a career high chart position and sales week.

“I Remember Everything” premiered after the Picture Show: A Tribute Celebrating John Prine concert event, which featured appearances and/or performances from the following:

Courtney Marie Andrews, Dan Auerbach, Kevin Bacon, Brené Brown, Brandi Carlile, Eric Church, Dave Cobb, Stephen Colbert, Peter Cooper, Iris DeMent, John Dickerson, Mitchell Drosin, David Ferguson, Vince Gill, Jason Isbell, Jeremy Ivey, Jim James, Pat McLaughlin, Bill Murray, Kacey Musgraves, Margo Price, Fiona Whelan Prine, Jack Prine, Tommy Prine, Bonnie Raitt, The Secret Sisters, Kyra Sedgwick, Amanda Shires, Sturgill Simpson, Todd Snider, Billy Bob Thornton, Kurt Vile, Kelsey Waldon, Sara Watkins, Jody Whelan, John Paul White, Rita Wilson and Prine’s longtime band (Kenneth Blevins, David Jacques, Fats Kaplin, Jason Wilber).


Related Posts