John Mayer Introduces ‘Sob Rock’ Tour at SiriusXM & Pandora ‘Small Stage Series’; Streaming Through Weekend


Adrian GarroCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

John Mayer took the stage at the Hollywood Palladium on Wednesday night for a special Small Stage Series performance co-sponsored by SiriusXM and Pandora — an official kickoff event for Mayer’s upcoming Sob Rock tour, named after his slightly yacht-rock-leaning 2021 studio album.

Last week, the beloved guitarist/singer unveiled the impressive ensemble of musicians that will accompany him on the road later this spring, a venerable who’s-who of session legends and established industry greats. Joining him will be:

Lenny Castro (percussion)
Steve Ferrone (drums)
David Ryan Harris (guitar/vocals)
Jamie Muhoberac (keys)
Pino Palladino (bass)
Tiffany Palmer (vocals)
Greg Phillinganes (keys/vocals)
Carlos Ricketts (vocals)
Isaiah Sharkey (guitar)

This incredible assortment backed Mayer at the Palladium for a lengthy set of songs from throughout his career, which flowed seamlessly from old (“Belief,” “Waiting on the World to Change”) to new (“Wild Blue,” “Last Train Home,” “Shot in the Dark,” “New Light” and more). Mayer’s band flashed its weighty talent on each song, Mayer sometimes allowing himself to wail away on guitar every now and then.

During “Slow Dancing in a Burning Room,” a fan favorite from his Continuum album, a concerned Mayer paused the show when it became apparent that a fan was in medical distress; after a few minutes of attention, she was helped by the medical staff and the show resumed, but only after it was confirmed that she was OK.

John Mayer’s set list:

Last Train Home
Belief
Love on the Weekend
Wild Blue
Shot in the Dark
Who Says
Moving On and Getting Over
Shouldn’t Matter but It Does
Helpless
Slow Dancing in a Burning Room
Waiting on the World to Change
Edge of Desire
Gravity

Encore:
All I Want Is to Be With You (Live debut)
New Light

The evening’s festivities were hosted by Andy Cohen, radio/TV talk show host/SiriusXM DJ, who sat down with Mayer for a pre-show interview that was part of the event streamed live on SiriusXM — but if you missed it live, there are more opportunities to listen throughout this upcoming Super Bowl weekend.

Per SiriusXM’s blog:

The full show — which aired live on SiriusXM’s The Spectrum (Ch. 28) and on the SXM App — will re-air several times on the channel throughout the week. Listeners can also catch it on Andy Cohen’s Kiki Lounge (Ch. 312) on February 11 at 8pm ET, with rebroadcasts throughout the weekend. Additionally, Radio Andy (Ch. 102) will air Andy Cohen’s sit-down interview with Mayer on February 11 at 7pm ET, with rebroadcasts throughout the weekend.

John Mayer’s concert, in its entirety with additional content not seen during the Hollywood Palladium show will air as part of the virtual Pandora LIVE series this Saturday, February 12 at 9pm ET /6pm PT.  Anyone can RSVP for free here: https://pandoralivejohnmayer.splashthat.com/

As for John Mayer and his Sob Rock tour dates, here are those:

Thu Feb 17 – Albany, NY – Times Union Center
Fri Feb 18 – Philadelphia, PA – Wells Fargo Center
Sun Feb 20 – New York, NY – Madison Square Garden
Mon Feb 21 – New York, NY – Madison Square Garden
Wed Feb 23 – Washington, DC – Capital One Arena
Fri Feb 25 – Pittsburgh, PA – PPG Paints Arena
Sun Feb 27 – Toronto, ON – Scotiabank Arena
Tue Mar 01 – Belmont Park, NY – UBS Arena
Fri Mar 04 – Boston, MA – TD Garden
Sat Mar 05 – Boston, MA – TD Garden
Fri Mar 11 – Las Vegas, NV – Grand Garden Arena
Sun Mar 13 – Los Angeles, CA – Forum
Tue Mar 15 – Los Angeles, CA – Forum
Wed Mar 16 – Los Angeles, CA – Forum
Fri Mar 18 – San Francisco, CA – Chase Center
Sat Mar 19 – San Francisco, CA – Chase Center
Tue Mar 22 – Seattle, WA – Climate Pledge Arena
Wed Mar 23 – Seattle, WA – Climate Pledge Arena
Fri Mar 25 – Salt Lake City, UT – Vivint Arena
Sun Mar 27 – Denver, CO – Ball Arena
Sat Apr 02 – Sunrise, FL – BB&T Center
Tue Apr 05 – Tampa, FL – Amalie Arena
Fri Apr 08 – Atlanta, GA – State Farm Arena
Sat Apr 09 – Atlanta, GA – State Farm Arena
Mon Apr 11 – Charlotte, NC – Spectrum Center
Wed Apr 13 – Nashville, TN – Bridgestone Arena
Thu Apr 20 – Austin, TX – Moody Center
Wed Apr 21 – Austin, TX – Moody Center
Sat Apr 23 – Houston, TX – Toyota Center
Sun Apr 24 – Dallas, TX – American Airlines Center
Thu Apr 28 – Chicago, IL – United Center
Fri Apr 29 – Chicago, IL – United Center



Related Posts