Jerry Cantrell (Alice in Chains) Previews New Solo LP ‘Brighten’ with “Atone” Music Video, Album Out 10/29

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Oct. 29, Jerry Cantrell, celebrated guitarist/vocalist/lyricist for Alice in Chains, will release his third solo album, Brighten. It will be the first such release from Cantrell since 2002’s Degradation Trip.

Cantrell recently premiered the album’s first track, “Atone,” in the form of stark black-and-white music video depicting him walking around in Joshua Tree, Phoenix, Arizona, Los Angeles and Salton Sea:

The video boasted a great creative team, including Cantrell, photographer/musician Jim Louvau; singer/guitarist Greg Puciato (of the Dillinger Escape Plan); visual artist Jesse Draxler and Photographer Tony Aguilera. Duff McKagan plays bass on the song, while Gil Sharone mans the drum kit.

Via Rolling Stone, Jerry spoke about the video:  “As a fan of Ennio Morricone scores and Sergio Leone movies, it’s got a bit of that outlaw vibe, with a cool psycho hillbilly stomp. It’s been kicking around in my head for like 20-plus years, haunting me. Sometimes it takes a while for a good idea to find its best form. Such was the case with Atone.”

Of his decision to put together more music under his own name, rather than Alice in Chains (whose most recent studio album was 2018’s Rainier Fog):

“I’ve been in the band for almost 34 years now. It’s always my first and foremost commitment, but it’s nice to explore different things and add another chapter to a growing body of work. After the last AIC tour wrapped, I geared my mind towards the possibility of making another record of my own.”

The album’s track listing and detailed personnel list:

Prism of Doubt
Black Hearts and Evil Done
Siren Song
Had To Know
Nobody Breaks You

Jerry Cantrell – Guitar, bass, vocals, keys
Greg Puciato – Background vocals
Duff McKagan – Bass
Gil Sharone – Drums
Abe Laboriel Jr. – Drums
Tyler Bates – Strings, percussion, guitar
Vincent Jones – Piano, keys, & strings
Jordan Lewis – Piano
Michael Rozon – Pedal steel
Lola Bates – Background vocals
Matias Ambrogi-Torres – Strings

Related Posts