Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy Shares ‘Guess Again’ and ‘Love is the King’ from New Solo LP Out 10/23; Live Stream Gig 9/18

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Oct, Wilco front man Jeff Tweedy will release a new solo album titled Love is the King. It’s the culmination of writing the celebrated indie rock singer/songwriter has carried out over the past few months of COVID-19 lockdown as a means of coping with the frustration of 2020.

(Click here to shop Jeff Tweedy in our Rock Cellar Store).

Love is the King was previewed alongside the announcement with a pair of singles. Here’s “Guess Again”:

And here’s the title track:

The album:

1. Love Is The King
2. Opaline
3. A Robin or A Wren
4. Gwendolyn
5. Bad Day Lately
6. Even I Can See
7. Natural Disaster
8. Save It For Me
9. Guess Again
10. Troubled
11. Half-Asleep

Said Jeff Tweedy of this new record, in a statement:

At the beginning of the lockdown I started writing country songs to console myself. Folk and country type forms being the shapes that come most easily to me in a comforting way. ‘Guess Again’ is a good example of the success I was having at pushing the world away, counting my blessings — taking stock in my good fortune to have love in my life,” comments Tweedy. “A few weeks later things began to sound like ‘Love Is The King’ — a little more frayed around the edges with a lot more fear creeping in. Still hopeful but definitely discovering the limits of my own ability to self soothe.”

The album’s digital release is scheduled for Oct. 23, with a physical release coming at some point in the future.

Love is the King will be Tweedy’s follow-up to 2018’s Warm and 2019’s Warmer, both solo releases, as well as Wilco’s 2019 album Ode to Joy.

This Friday, Sept. 18, Jeff Tweedy and his band will perform a special drive-in concert from McHenry Outdoor Theater, streaming the show live for anybody interested in watching. Click here for ticketing information for the live stream.

Related Posts