New from Jeff Slate: Watch an Animated Music Video for ‘Heartbreak,’ Featuring Earl Slick and Duff McKagan

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Jeff Slate is a New York-based singer/songwriter with a prolific solo career — in addition to being a rock music journalist. He’s a regular contributor to Rock Cellar (if you read our recent features on The Go-Go’s — click here — or the Psychedelic Furs — click here — you’ve read his work).

Today, he premiered a new song, “Heartbreak,” which features a couple of his high-profile musical pals. Joining Slate on the song are Earl Slick (guitars), Duff McKagan (bass), Lee Harris (lap steel), Eric Lichter (Backing vocals, guitars and keyboards), Jordan Summers (Keyboards) and Ben Gordelier (drums and percussion).

The song has an animated music video from Alex Rosas, which you can watch/listen to below:

“Heartbreak” was written earlier this year and recorded at various points in sessions “spanning the globe,” despite the COVID-19 pandemic making things difficult for everybody.

Said Jeff Slate of the song:

“I’m incredibly proud of ‘Heartbreak.’ Everybody brought their absolute A-Game to the sessions, and that was inspiring and humbling, considering the players involved. I dug deeper and reached higher on the song and in all the writing I’m doing now. It all feels like an exciting new direction.”

The song is Slate’s most recent release after his 43-song live album Lockdown Live, released in mid-August and bringing together various recordings made at home during the pandemic.

Related Posts